Surface Base Apollo Landing Site Sceneries for Orbiter 2016

ggalfi

Active member
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
58
Reaction score
98
Points
33
Location
Budapest
I just tried it and for some reason, my terrain seems to be enlarged on the z-axis (vertically) by a factor of maybe two or three? Not sure what I did wrong, just installed the files as mentioned in the doc.
Here's some screenshots, the elevation of the surrounding look exaggerated.. hmm..
I guess it is a factor of two, and the cause is that I used 0.5 m vertical resolution for the elevation. The non standard scales are handled correctly only by Orbiter2016 Beta. Currently it is only a recommendation in the documentation, so I think I should modify it to clarify that this setup is practically a requirement for the proper usage of the elevation maps. If you read back some earlier posts here, you'll see that it is a recurrent problem, however the only help I'd able to provide is to degrade the vertical resolution of the elevation maps. But I'm reluctant to do so, because 1. it looks uglier (especially with the lack of terrain smoothing in the standard Orbiter), 2. it would meant the task for me to manage one additional package for each landing site, just to be compatible with some more or less obsolete Orbiter versions. Using the cutting edge setup of Orbiter beta (and the strongly recommended D3D9Client) comes with no cost, so why not to do that?
Also, please don't forget to set "ElevationResolution = 0.5" and "MaxPatchResolution = 18" in the Moon.cfg file(s), but forgetting to do so will result in only a lower quality display, not this exaggerated elevation problem.
 

FordPrefect

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
401
Reaction score
37
Points
28
ggalfi, so I installed everything into a new Orbiter Beta and I absolutely love your terrain works! Now John and Charlie are loading up the LRV for their first trip at the Highlands of Descartes! :)
I am very much looking forward to the Taurus-Littrow elevation textures, I hope you will do Apollo 17's landing site too (A17 is my favourite mission, but all are amazing).
 

Attachments

  • 2022-04-19 21_52_12-Greenshot.png
    2022-04-19 21_52_12-Greenshot.png
    166.1 KB · Views: 36

FordPrefect

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
401
Reaction score
37
Points
28
Just a sidenote for this nice add-on. In order to land at the historically accurate position on the lunar surface, make sure your (AMSO) bases (Tranquility, Frau Mauro,...) have the correct LAT/LON in their config files! The meshes appear to be placed very precisely at their correct location.

The exact landing site coordinates have been updated in 2017 and I just realized it because I landed with AMSO at Tranquility and noticed it was way too far to the west of West crater and little west crater. The AMSO base files for the landing sites have the outdated Post-Apollo era coordinates.

Below you can find the initial part of the updated AMSO Tranquility base config as an example...


BASE-V2.0
Name = Tranquillity
Location = +23.473922 +0.674014
Size = 500
MapObjectsToSphere = TRUE

BEGIN_NAVBEACON
VOR TQLY +23.473922 +0.674014 112.70 500
END_NAVBEACON


Here, the Eagle as it landed at the correct spot about 50 meters west of little west crater on this addon's hi-resolution mesh:
 

Attachments

  • Tranquility.png
    Tranquility.png
    48.6 KB · Views: 23

barrygolden

Active member
Joined
Nov 3, 2009
Messages
675
Reaction score
99
Points
43
Location
North of Houston
I've got that issue but didn't see a solution and can't get it out either
 

Attachments

  • Apollo issues.png
    Apollo issues.png
    427 KB · Views: 17

ggalfi

Active member
Joined
May 31, 2020
Messages
58
Reaction score
98
Points
33
Location
Budapest
I've got that issue but didn't see a solution and can't get it out either
Hi,

first of all, feel free to tag me in your post, otherwise I don't get any notification on new posts here.
The odd terrain on the pic is likely caused by Orbiter2016. You're supposed to use Orbiter Beta because this version is able to handle fractional elevation resolution - most of my elevation maps are using 0.5 m instead of the usual 1m.
 

moonheart

Member
Joined
Jul 12, 2015
Messages
60
Reaction score
15
Points
23
I have found if you simply use the texture maps with "normal" orbiter - they work quite well - especially with the higher level orbiter meshes available.

Orion at Descartes.jpg
 

Max-Q

99 40
Addon Developer
Joined
Jul 5, 2021
Messages
414
Reaction score
572
Points
108
Location
Cislunar Space
Website
www.orbithangar.com
I have found if you simply use the texture maps with "normal" orbiter - they work quite well - especially with the higher level orbiter meshes available.

View attachment 30451
That is what I do. I run NASSP on Beta, but since I share planet textures with regular o2016 the elev maps work fine in Beta, but mess up the Apollo sites in regular 2016.
 
Top