Astrophoto thread (your own photos please)

YL3GDY

Reaction score
Hi all.

Some of recent discussions encouraged me to create a thread, where astrophotographs (real, of course!) can be posted.

So, you are welcome to post here your shots of the sky!

agentgonzo

Grounded since '09
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
orbiter.quorg.org
I've just started astrophotography. Here's my first image of the moon (bit blurry, am trying to sort it out as I'm still learning)
moon.jpg

Celestron Ultima 2000 (8", f/10)
Canon 350D at prime focus.

YL3GDY

Reaction score
And here is my shot. I have used Nikon D40 camera with Nikkor 55-200mm lens. Exposure: 1/200 sec., f/5.6, ISO-200. The photo was taken in Riga, in 1st December 2007.

I have a bit photoshopped this image a bit...

Attachments

• DSC_0496.jpg
    DSC_0496.jpg
    85.9 KB · Views: 123
Reaction score
Well, they're not nearly as good as what's already been posted, but here are two of mine:

This is the only half-way decent image I've been able to get just holding my camera to the eyepiece of my scope. (I ought to try this again, now that I have some eyepieces with eye-cups; should make things a bit easier.)

17P/Holmes taken with just my camera.

Oh yea, I'm using a Meade model 4500 (Newtonian, 4.5' f/8) and a Fujifilm FinePix S7000 :rolleyes: :whistle:

Artlav

Aperiodic traveller
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Website
orbides.org
Preferred Pronouns
she/her
Artlav, which equipment were you using?
Canon PowerShot A700 for 6Mpix camera and the telescope is labeled "TeleScience", made in China.
Labelled as having 450x zoom, but in practice it's about half that - you can only see a quarter of the Moon at medium zoom, and maximum won't focus due to shakiness of the structure.

spcefrk

AeroEng
Donator
Reaction score
Hey guys,