New Release AttitudeIndicatorMFD

cyph0r

Reaction score
Hello,

After switching from KSP to Orbiter I somehow missed an attitude indicator (aka navball) to help orient myself in orbit.
Since I didn't find any MFD that provided what I was looking for, I decided to make my own attitude indicator MFD, inspired by the KSP navball.
At this point I would like to share the results that I have so far.
Since I am quite new to Orbiter the MFD has not been rigorously tested yet, therefore any feedback as well as bug reports are greatly appreciated.

As it has been suggested in this thread, my implementation is based on the attref.cpp class that is used by the ShuttleA in the upcoming Orbiter 2016.
The attitude indicator MFD uses OpenGL for rendering the 8-ball, which allows for a replaceable surface texture. A config file can be used to alter the navball appearance.
The MFD features prograde/retrograde/normal/target... markers as known from KSP, they furthermore replace the error needles from the ShuttleA's 8-ball.
When selected, the MFD also shows altitude, speed and orbital parameters, providing an alternative to the Surface MFD once in orbit.

Included features:
- 8-ball that can be rotated in ECL, EQU, LH/LN, OV/OM and several NAV frames of reference
- Prograde/retrograde, N+/N-, radial in/out and perpendicular in/out markers on the ball
- Target, velocity and CRS marker in certain NAV modes
- NAV mode supports VOR/ILS, VTOL, XPDR and IDS
- Optional display of altitude, speed and orbital parameters
- Adjustable navball texture and marker colors

Builds for Orbiter 2010 P1 and Orbiter 2016 are attached to this post. The code is available at Github.

Regards,
Paul

1_lhln.PNG
4_ids_2.PNG

Edit: New release (20.09.16)
[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7003"]AttitudeIndicatorMFD (20160920) for Orbiter 2010P1[/ame]
[ame="http://www.orbithangar.com/searchid.php?ID=7002"]AttitudeIndicatorMFD (20160920) for Orbiter 2016[/ame]

Last edited:

ADSWNJ

Scientist