Gaming FlightGear 2.4.0 is out...

cljohnston

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
248
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Website
myspace.com
...and it's still a piece of crap compared to Orbiter!
They promised all manner of improvements, but it still takes up about 800G of HD space, the scenery still doesn't look like any recognizable landscape, 7 out of 10 add-on aircraft still are only half-finished, etc.
I just can't believe this thing's been in development for three years longer than Orbiter, and it's still in such a shoddy state.

I remember when I first found Orbiter back in 2001: The graphics needed work, but the potential was immediately obvious, due to the realistic physics and things like the Orbit MFD. The improvement in just a couple of years was astounding! But even at the beginning, it was a much more refined package than FlightGear is even today!

I don't own a PC anymore, so I can only run whatever freeware gets put out for the Mac (Mine was a gift).
Really wish someone would port Orbiter for the Mac.
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
I took a look at the screenshots and thought it looked pretty good.
I pefer FSX because of the addons and tailoring I've done to it but Flightgear looks fine to me.
 

cljohnston

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
248
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Website
myspace.com
I took a look at the screenshots and thought it looked pretty good.
I pefer FSX because of the addons and tailoring I've done to it but Flightgear looks fine to me.

Oh sure, the clouds look great at 30,000 ft, but try flying low & slow, especially over your home town.
The only recognizable landmarks in my neighborhood are the Hollywood Sign, some of the buildings Downtown, and LAX. Everything else is completely random buildings and generic surface tiles.

Guess I'm just spoiled by Google Earth. ;)
 

cljohnston

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
248
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Website
myspace.com
:WTF:


On another note - can anyone recommend any aircraft addons which are in a decent state of development? Any to avoid?

Well, the ones I've had the most fun with, for just toolin' around and checking out scenery (I'll admit, some cities (Paris, NYC) are way better than others (L.A.)), are the TNG & SG-1 ships at Stewart's Hangar.
The guy did a good job with the Runabout, Type 6 Shuttlecraft & X-305 Daedalus, with lots of nifty features to play with (almost like an Orbiter add-on!).

Also, I can recommend most of the aircraft at Helijah's FG Hangar, my fave being the Bell 222 X, which you might recognize from somewhere. ;)

EDIT: Forgot to mention the F-14B Tomcat is hands-down the most accurately detailed model in FlightGear, as far as I'm concerned! You could spend an hour just sitting on the tarmac flipping all the cockpit switches!
 
Last edited:

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
580
Reaction score
40
Points
43
Location
Happy Wherever
Has anyone tried the Concorde on FlightGear?

I think it's AWESOME !! (again, if you've got the kit to run it)
 

cljohnston

New member
Joined
Dec 21, 2007
Messages
248
Reaction score
2
Points
0
Location
Los Angeles, CA
Website
myspace.com
Well, I decided to have a little adventure, so first I looked up my destination in Google Earth, a little place called Lukla (LUA) (although in FlightGear it's listed as VNLK).
Chose the Type 6 Shuttlecraft, climbed to 29,029 ft, pointed my nose at 32º, and waited to see what came out of the mist...

FG_Everest_20110904_01.jpg

FG_Everest_20110904_02.jpg


When I set her down, I was a little disappointed to see that my altimeter was a tad off...

FG_Everest_20110904_03.jpg


But I let that slide when I zoomed out a bit on the externals...

FG_Everest_20110904_04.jpg
 

Dambuster

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
789
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
UK
Has anyone tried the Concorde on FlightGear?

I think it's AWESOME !! (again, if you've got the kit to run it)

+1,000,000,000,000

That Concorde is utterly superb. Sure, it may not be the prettiest model in the world, but I love it - and the functionality is epic! Nothing makes for a better FG scene than watching Concorde on final approach into KSFO out of the fog (looks even better on autoland, since you don't need to do anything :p) :thumbup::thumbup:
 

ky

Director of Manned Spaceflight
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
1,409
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Boynton Beach
Surprising, uses almost the same controls as Orbiter i.e: 8/2 down and up, 4/6 roll left and roll right.
 

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
13
Points
113
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.
Hmm, getting weird graphical errors, and all the aircraft meshes are garbled, as if my card doesn't support OpenGL. The strange thing is that I used FG with no problems around two years ago on this system.

fgerror.png


Anyone else getting something like this? The FAQ and support sections of the website aren't very helpful.

Surprising, uses almost the same controls as Orbiter i.e: 8/2 down and up, 4/6 roll left and roll right.
I think that's a pretty common control setup on PC games. Mechwarrior uses a similar scheme too.
 

Linguofreak

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
4,613
Reaction score
739
Points
138
Location
Dallas, TX
Hmm, getting weird graphical errors, and all the aircraft meshes are garbled, as if my card doesn't support OpenGL. The strange thing is that I used FG with no problems around two years ago on this system.

ATI card?
 

Blacklight

New member
Joined
Jun 15, 2008
Messages
259
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
In space ?
Website
www.myspace.com
I use FlightGear. For a free, open source, flight simulator, it's the best one out there. Yeah, it's no Orbiter, but then again, Orbiter has been around a lot longer and has a larger community of modders and a LOT more addons.
 

Coolhand

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 7, 2008
Messages
1,150
Reaction score
7
Points
0
Website
www.scifi-meshes.com
Every time i look at a screenshot of Flightgear, I wonder why no one ever bothered to remove the outlines from around the clouds. Its so neatly trimmed out around the outline it almost appears as if its been intentionally left in... I know its free and i'm sure someone has worked really hard on them and its just a superficial thing, but I just know within 5 minutes i'd be in an image editor and improving them - and once i start that process it kinda ruins it for me.

I think Orbiter wins out in the battle of the freeware sims because while there are lots of commercially developed atmospheric flight sims, some which cost next to nothing to buy and even have free addons - spoiled for choice really... Orbiter obviously stands alone with its focus on interplanetary flight.
 

Cairan

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 11, 2008
Messages
601
Reaction score
1
Points
18
Location
Amqui, QC
Still, sims such as FlightGear have two important things Orbiter lacks out-of-the-box: water bodies and terrain elevation. That's what bothers me after a while in Orbiter, but I don't make much of a fuss... I play FGFS when I want to fly close to Earth and Orbiter when I want to go in orbit ;)
 
Top