Question General Spaceflight Q&A

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
599
Points
203
ah ok, I thought STS-2 already had mission specialists.
Nope. Originally there were going to be six OFTs using Columbia, but the last two were eliminated.
 

Izack

Non sequitur
Addon Developer
Joined
Feb 4, 2010
Messages
6,665
Reaction score
13
Points
113
Location
The Wilderness, N.B.
Was the Shuttle's reentry profile at all different with the Spacelab components in the bay?
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
599
Points
203
Was the Shuttle's reentry profile at all different with the Spacelab components in the bay?
Nope. Standard descent profile.
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
Nope. Originally there were going to be six OFTs using Columbia, but the last two were eliminated.

Wasn't there a plan at one point to have MS'es on STS-2 so they could perform a skylab reboost?

This was when the plan was to fly Shuttle in 1979.
 

Rtyh-12

New member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
918
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Kraken Mare
I hope this won't be considered a necropost, but...

while I was watching a video tour of the ISS, I've seen the laptops stuck to the walls. I am wondering what operating system they use and how many there are there, and also what is their purpose? (like, can't you just have one or two big computers to control the systems?)
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,057
Reaction score
1,761
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I hope this won't be considered a necropost, but...

while I was watching a video tour of the ISS, I've seen the laptops stuck to the walls. I am wondering what operating system they use and how many there are there, and also what is their purpose? (like, can't you just have one or two big computers to control the systems?)

The last I remember was Windows (US Segment) and Solaris (Russian Segment).
 

Wally

Member
Joined
Apr 18, 2010
Messages
190
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Cluj-Napoca
The Russians were using Solaris? (Ex-)Sun Solaris?

As far as I could see, in Mission Control Rooms they are using Windows XP and at least one station with some sort of Linux (probably RHEL, but I'm not sure about that), so using XP aboard ISS makes sense.

I wonder why are Russians using Solaris...
 

Rtyh-12

New member
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
918
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Kraken Mare
Thanks, but by any chance, do you happen to know what they use in the other areas?
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
I know that Windows XP is used in the US segment but it has next to no control over the ISS. It's there for mail syncs and other types of activity. Many functions are controlled by Solaris but the actual Command & Control computers that run the core functions of the ISS are military spec (radiation hardened) system and proprietary OS. You can read a little about them here.
 

Phillips

Regular witty saying title.
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Why didnt Columbia fly any missions to the ISS pre STS-107?
 

T.Neo

SA 2010 Soccermaniac
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 22, 2008
Messages
6,368
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I think Columbia was not preferred for station flights because she was heavy and could launch less payload than the other orbiters, which was especially critical to the ISS inclination. Nevertheless, Columbia was scheduled to launch the Crew Return Vehicle, if I remember correctly.

Other than that, I think it was just primarily scheduling of the flights.
 
Last edited:

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
599
Points
203
Why didnt Columbia fly any missions to the ISS pre STS-107?
She was too heavy. Atlantis, Discovery and Endeavour had a lighter structure which allowed them to carry heavy components to the high-inclination ISS orbit.
 

orbitingpluto

Orbiteer
Joined
May 1, 2010
Messages
618
Reaction score
0
Points
16
I think it was because Columbia was the heaviest of the shuttle fleet, and for servicing the ISS the Delta-v just wasn't enough.

Edit: Ninja'd. Twice.
 

Dambuster

Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
789
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
UK
What degree of accuracy are the STS launch windows specified to? I always see it given in hours:mins:secs, but is it actually timed more precisely than that?
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,057
Reaction score
1,761
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
What degree of accuracy are the STS launch windows specified to? I always see it given in hours:mins:secs, but is it actually timed more precisely than that?

Not more accurate than seconds. While you could of course do that for the pure obsession with numbers, it doesn't change a thing - the few milliseconds inaccuracy has to be tolerated anyway.
 

Phillips

Regular witty saying title.
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
46
Reaction score
0
Points
0
If the STS-107 rescue was launched, how would the Rescue shuttle crew get the Columbia crew.? The airlock was replaced by the transfer tunnel to spacehab so the crew couldnt get out unless there were an airlock somewhere around the spacehab transfer tunnel
 

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Moderator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
10,480
Reaction score
199
Points
138
Location
Kent
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
If the STS-107 rescue was launched, how would the Rescue shuttle crew get the Columbia crew.? The airlock was replaced by the transfer tunnel to spacehab so the crew couldnt get out unless there were an airlock somewhere around the spacehab transfer tunnel

There is an airlock on top of the tunnel. This was always there in case there was a need for an emergency EVA to close the Payload Bay Doors or to jettison the KU Band Antenna.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,314
Reaction score
599
Points
203
About 30 orbits which is the equivalent to about 2 days.
 
Top