Hello from Germany!

Kartoffelkuchen

New member
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NRW
Hello dear Community!
Yeah, I'm 'Kartoffelkuchen', (almost) 14 years old and I'm from Germany.:hello: So, I've heard from Orbiter through Kerbal Space Program. KSP is a fantastic game, but I'm looking for something more realistic here, and I found this, and it looks like, I found the right game.:thumbup:
I'm also trying myself in some 3D modelling, here're some renders of my current project, a Delta II by United Launch Alliance:
http://imgur.com/a/99OJR

Now, I couldn't play this game up to now. Everything is nicely installed, BUT:
When I run the game, it says:
"Runtime Error - The Runtime Library was forced an unusual way to quit", something in that direction. Does anyone out there knows what I can do there? :/ Because I would love to play that game!:hailprobe:

Greetings, Kartoffelkuchen
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,536
Reaction score
2,271
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Now, I couldn't play this game up to now. Everything is nicely installed, BUT:
When I run the game, it says:
"Runtime Error - The Runtime Library was forced an unusual way to quit", something in that direction. Does anyone out there knows what I can do there? :/ Because I would love to play that game!:hailprobe:

Well, as you can expect, there are some standard questions for trouble-shooting:

Which operating system, GPU, etc... the usual configuration stuff.

Then, it would be interesting to know: How did you install Orbiter? Where did you download it, did you install a vanilla one or did you already install add-ons? Which version of Orbiter did you install?

Finally, Orbiter writes a small log file everytime you start it, called "Orbiter.log", it resides in the same directory as "Orbiter.exe". Can you copy and paste its contents into a post here, between a [CODE] and a [/CODE] tag?
 

Kartoffelkuchen

New member
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NRW
Well, as you can expect, there are some standard questions for trouble-shooting:

Which operating system, GPU, etc... the usual configuration stuff.

Then, it would be interesting to know: How did you install Orbiter? Where did you download it, did you install a vanilla one or did you already install add-ons? Which version of Orbiter did you install?

Finally, Orbiter writes a small log file everytime you start it, called "Orbiter.log", it resides in the same directory as "Orbiter.exe". Can you copy and paste its contents into a post here, between a [CODE] and a [/CODE] tag?
I am running Orbiter on a 64bit Windows 7 installation. 12GB RAM, Intel i5, CPU @ 2x 2.6GHz, Intel HD Graphics 4000.
I downloaded Orbiter from here (--> http://orbitersimulator.com/orbiter-2010-downloads/ ) and I've choosen the Orbiter 2010 Base .zip file. I haven't got any mods installed.
Here's the log content:

Code:
**** Orbiter.log
Build Aug 30 2010 [v.100830]
Timer precision: 3.94727e-007 sec
Found 0 joystick(s)
Devices enumerated: 4
Devices accepted: 3
==> RGB Emulation
==> Direct3D HAL
==> Direct3D HAL (Intel(R) HD Graphics 4000)
Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 100830, API 100830]
Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 100830, API 100830]

**** Creating simulation session
DirectDraw interface OK
Direct3D interface OK
Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1366 x 768 x 16
Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: No
Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 16 bit
Graphics: Active lights supported: -1

Also, here's an image of the error message: http://i.imgur.com/ZLeVWgD.png

Hope you can help me:jiggy:
 

Ripley

Tutorial translator
Donator
Joined
Sep 12, 2010
Messages
3,133
Reaction score
407
Points
123
Location
Rome
Website
www.tuttovola.org
Welcome to OF!

You could try moving Orbiter's folder out of your desktop, and putting it into something like C:\games\Orbiter.

Edit:
After reading Scav's reply (about MaxLights), my suggestion appears quite useless...
 
Last edited:

jedidia

shoemaker without legs
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
10,829
Reaction score
2,085
Points
203
Location
between the planets
From the log, it looks like the GPU has a problem with the lights... Try turning off "local light sources" in the launchpad and see if that helps.

Also, that's some impressive english for a 14 years old german... I've seen 14 years old americans that don't write this well. :thumbup:
 

Kartoffelkuchen

New member
Joined
Nov 19, 2014
Messages
3
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
NRW
Thank's jedidia and Scav! It works now!:cool: And also a thanks to jedidia for your compliment..:blush:
 

Koloss

Weyland-Yutani Corp.
Donator
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
167
Reaction score
1
Points
16
Location
Krefeld
Hi Kartoffelkuchen,

Funny name :)
Welcome to Orbiter Forum! Have a good time!

Greetings from NRW

Chris
 

statickid

CatDog from Deimos
Donator
Joined
Nov 23, 2008
Messages
1,683
Reaction score
4
Points
38
From the log, it looks like the GPU has a problem with the lights... Try turning off "local light sources" in the launchpad and see if that helps.

Also, that's some impressive english for a 14 years old german... I've seen 14 years old americans that don't write this well. :thumbup:

Come on jedidia, everyone knows that the only people with worse English than Americans are the English. ;)
 

Koloss

Weyland-Yutani Corp.
Donator
Joined
Apr 16, 2013
Messages
167
Reaction score
1
Points
16
Location
Krefeld
Hello Kartoffelkuchen,
Welcome to Orbiter Forum!

@Koloss du wohnst ja nur eine Stadt von mir entfernt, das ist echt zufall!

Oh, ein Nachbar! Krass :) Ja, von Krefeld nach Kempen ist's nun nicht wirklich weit :cheers:
 
Top