General Question How do I delete the default LC-39 B at KSC?

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
I have been messing around trying to put the more realistic and functional shuttle launch complexes into Orbiter 2010, both kev33's LC-39 Hi-res v9 and Damir Gulesich's LC39 v3, both seem to work well, but I just cannot get rid of that nasty looking default 39-b pad and tower. I found a few lines referring to it in the Config/Earth/Base/Cape Canaveral.cfg, deleted them, yet they are still there.
 

JMW

Aspiring Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2008
Messages
559
Reaction score
23
Points
33
Location
Back in Blighty - marooned at home
Remove these entries from Canaveral.cfg, and it should disapear!
(If it doesn't, make sure you are not loading KSC in Config folder.)

PHP:
MESH ; Pad 39B tower
 FILE KSC_3
 POS -11830 0 5280
 ROT 178
 TEX Cape18
 SHADOW
 PRELOAD
END
 
////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
 
MESH ; Pad 39B base
 FILE KSC_4
 POS -11830 0 5280
 ROT 178
 TEX Cape19
 SHADOW
 PRELOAD
END
LPAD2
 POS -11001 0 5056
 ROT 90
 SCALE 0.1
 TEX Lpad02
END

:thumbup:
 

ky

Director of Manned Spaceflight
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
1,409
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Boynton Beach
Actually Slat's LC-39 and Edwards AFB package is your best bet.
 

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
I had deleted the two 39B bits, but not that lpad2 part you mentioned, and I also never touched the KSC. Found the same lines in there, deleted them, and success, no more ugly default pad. Thank you so much.

It took some time to move Kevs pads into the right place, and move the arms and gangway as well.

I do like Slats, especially having a working EDW, a the effects are cool, but I was at first not to thrilled about the automatic count down thing. And when I first messed around with it, my Shuttle fleet lost the ability somehow to fire the SRBs when using the 10 second countdown item 777 in the GPC. The mains fired, but no SRB fire. When I pressed the "+" my self, they would then fire, but not ideal. I will give that package another look and see if I can get it to work.

One thing that just does not seem to work however is the Hi-Res KSC for me in Orbiter 2010p1, but that is not such a big deal to me since I think the default KSC is fine for the moment, but it seems a lot of these pads are designed for a differently located KSC, with all the pads being offset to the SW.
 

ky

Director of Manned Spaceflight
Joined
Jan 22, 2011
Messages
1,409
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Location
Boynton Beach
There is a way to set as the default launchpad in your Canaveral.cfg.Just add these lines to Canaveral.cfg:
Code:
; --- Pad 39A --- 
MESH	
	FILE STSmlp
	OWNMATERIAL
	POS -8943.8 30 6634.3
	ROT 90
	SHADOW
	PRELOAD
END
MESH		
	FILE STSpad39B
	OWNMATERIAL 
	POS -8877 46.5 6622
	ROT 180
	SHADOW
	PRELOAD
END
LPAD2A	; n.2
	POS -8936.2 0 6639.1
	ROT 90
	SCALE 0.0001
END

; --- Pad 39B --- 
MESH	
	FILE STSmlp
	OWNMATERIAL
	POS -11036.8 30 4999.3
	ROT 90
	SHADOW
	PRELOAD
END
MESH		
	FILE STSpad39B
	OWNMATERIAL 
	POS -10970 46.5 4987
	ROT 180
	SHADOW
	PRELOAD
END
LPAD2	; n.3
	POS -11029 0 5003.8
	ROT 180
	SCALE 0.001
	TEX Lpad02
END
; --- Press site --- 
MESH	
	FILE STSclock
	OWNMATERIAL
	POS -6065 7.5 2631
	ROT 40
	SHADOW
	PRELOAD
END

There is no automatic countdown.
 

Cras

Spring of Life!
Donator
Joined
Apr 13, 2011
Messages
2,215
Reaction score
0
Points
36
Location
Los Angeles
Website
www.youtube.com
I was following a tutorial I found here on getting Slats Lc 39 to work on default KSC and I must have glazed over the part where he says adding ISS 3.2 and the automatic moving parts and countdown are not neccessary. So I added the two launch pads the way you said and they look and work great.
 
Top