Programming Question HUD Modification

mercsim

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
I hate to ask for help but I'm almost desperate. I'm a pilot and really enjoy playing in the atmosphere with various Spaceplanes and such. I've test flown 13 new 'Real' airplanes and enjoy the testing part of airplane performance. In Orbiter, I enjoy changing Aero properties in Spacecraft4 and seeing how different the airplanes fly. I mostly play in 2010.

Anyways, I recently loaded up Sputnik's Spiral and noticed the HUD had Feet, Knots, and G's. This is AWESOME! There has been casual conversation around Units thru the years but the answer is basically that Martin programmed it this way so we live with it. What would it take to add this to the normal Orbiter HUD? Could it be a simple Module add-on? I found related math and reference to drawing in the HUD in the Spiral.h file Sputnik included with the Add-on. I'm not much of a programmer but have dabbled thru the years. I'm afraid this is beyond my capabilities. I wouldn't even know where to start to use the code in anything. I sent him a message but don't know if he is still very active or gets messages.

Here is a HUD shot of what I'm talking about. Also shown is my version of the ShuttlePB. Its a bash of MANY different contributors. Maybe you can see some familiar components. Clearly I enjoy Pablo's Mesh Editor and hacking at Mesh text files :) If I ever shared it, I would attempt to credit them.

If someone could point me to where the Orbiter HUD code is, perhaps I (or a smart person) could just modify it with a few simple equations to convert the speed and altitude before its printed to the screen. All the rest of the MFD's,Docking HUD, etc could stay in Metric. Hmmm....

Scott

Attachments

• HUD.PNG
    HUD.PNG
    217.7 KB · Views: 13
  • ShuttlePB.PNG
    ShuttlePB.PNG
    224.3 KB · Views: 13
Last edited:

mercsim

Donator
Donator
Reaction score