IMFD IMFD and VEEGA-type flight plans

Strathcona

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been using Orbiter for the last 10 years but I've only recently learned to use IMFD. Best decision ever.

My question is fairly specific. I'm flying a low-dV flight plan to Jupiter involving multiple flybys of inner solar system planets. In between my first flyby (Venus, MJD = 61365) and my second flyby (Earth, MJD = 61837), I orbit the sun about one and a quarter times before the Earth flyby. However when I try to enter these flyby dates into IMFD's course program to figure out my slingshot trajectory around Venus, IMFD assumes I want to complete less than one orbit around the sun before the Earth flyby, resulting in a very incorrect slingshot trajectory.

It's possible to tell TransX how many orbits you'd like to complete before target interception. How can I tell IMFD the same information in the course program?

Thank you! :tiphat:

Keithth G

Reaction score
It's possible to tell TransX how many orbits you'd like to complete before target interception. How can I tell IMFD the same information in the course program?

With respect to IMFD's Course Program: basically, you can't. IMFD's Course Program implements a single revolution Lambert Solver (which solves the boundary value problem: "I'm at point A and I want to be at point B at time dT in the future. What change in velocity should I apply now to get to B?"). It always assumes that the trajectory is less than one revolution. There is no option, as far as I am aware, to make it 'see' beyond one revolution.