Programming Question Just a thought regarding landing on a vessel

Kendo

Reaction score
As you can land on a planet, is it is possible to to make a very small "planet", or an object (ideally flat) and call it a "planet" to attach/or as a payload, just underneath a landing pad on a moving vessel, so as to to land on the pad. ?

charvey165

Reaction score
Interesting

Interesting, you want to land on a moving target? like say...the deck of a orbiting ship or a DG landing "IN" or on a moving station? ive seen a few addons like this, check out oribiter hanger mods, i think there is a station + few ships that would make a good base for something like you want. im not a mod designer so i am just going on what you suggested.
charvey

Artlav

Aperiodic traveller
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Reaction score
Website
orbides.org
Preferred Pronouns
she/her
Not without changing the Orbiter's core - planets are not definable at run time.

But you can do the opposite, and extend the touch-down points of a vessel down towards the actual planet (old-style Meshland).
Or just compute the collision physics in parallel (new Meshland, Shukra station).

Why do you ask?

Quick_Nick

Passed the Turing Test
Donator
Reaction score
Possible? I think so.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1gZN-5hl428"]Visosad 070426 vessel-vessel collision detection demo - YouTube[/ame]

Last edited:

Kendo

Reaction score
Thanks aArtlav.
I have a shuttle bay on a Star Trek ship, and rather than docking somewhere, I thought it would be good to "land" on the pad area.
On my Spacedock for instance you can dock to a small ledge with the XR2, positioned so the wheels touch the ledge when docked.
But it,s impossible to do for a wider selection of craft.
If every craft had a docking port at the same place at ground level, then all landing areas could have a docking port also at ground level, then dock.
Similar to Gattispilot,s Eagle.
This is why I asked the question.

Artlav

Aperiodic traveller
Addon Developer