Michio Kaku, nuclear batteries on spacecraft, and Pioneer One(internet TV show)

Krikkit

Reaction score
So this was all one thought process I just had and I wanted to get your opinion on a couple things and inform you of one other thing.

Muchio Kaku:

So I was just on Tumblr and someone on my followers list posted a picture of the man along with the caption "Greatest physicist of my time, and my favorite too."

I ended up taking offense to this statement. Back when I was an undergraduate I was studying physics under some of the most brilliant people I have had the pleasure of meeting. I attended symposiums, and read papers from people who were actually making sizable and important contributions to the world of physics, but most of these people the general public will never hear of. Yet Kaku can go on the discovery channel, make some outlandish claims about the year 2100 (With our current understanding of physics there will never be personal flying cars! It isn't energy efficient) and people hop on Tumblr and say "Greatest Physicist of my time." It just irks me and I can't really explain. Its like someone calling Dan Brown the best writer of all time, or Lady GaGa the best musician of all time.

Now don't get me wrong, I don't dislike Kaku personally. I rather enjoyed his Discovery series called Time, but the culture around him.

It is sort of the same problem with Neil deGrasse Tyson, who is a museum curator, not a scientist, but when you ask people to name a scientist his is usually the first name to come up. Carl Sagan has fame but most people consider him more a popularizer, even though he probably contributed more to science than Kaku.

So my question is, am I justified in my dislike of this sort of false profit worship, or am I just being unreasonable?

Nuclear Batteries on Spacecraft:

So I was reading up on Kaku and read that he was publicly apposed to the Cassini-Huygens probe because of its nuclear battery.