My Orbiter Simpit Project

rhoude57

Reaction score
Hi Orbiteers,
I was triggered a couple of weeks ago by the Youtube video of a father that built a space ship simulator in his kids' bedrooms. At the time, I told myself "Boy, would my grandkids get a kick out of flying something like this!!!"
I am an aerospace professional that grew-up with the space race as my everyday motivation to always learn more at school and make aircraft my world, my life.
Looking at his realization, however, I could not but think that his contraption was a little "Sooo 60s". A Simpit in 2014 has to leap towards the 21st Century, rather than be a melancholic reminder of an era past.
So I took inventory of the potential bits and pieces that could form parts of this Simpit: The Next Generation. I have a bunch of PCs and laptops all networked together, one of them running MSFS with a CH Flight Yoke and rudder pedals and a bunch of add-ons which I used to teach avionics not so long ago; I have a number of Android devices, including a Google Nexus smartphone that I use to explore Android app programming and an ASUS TF101 Tablet which I already felt should become the primary display and control device in the Simpit. Finally, I have an Epson LCD projector and a 6foot HD projection screen which, right off the bat, was chosen to become my out-of-the-window display. I also have an old, but functional Nintendo PowerGlove which I feel could have an small part to play somewhere in there.
So, with those things given, I set-out to find a Space Simulation kernel to power my Simpit, and WHAM! I discover Orbiter!!!
I have since mucked around with Orbiter and the Sound and VNCMFD add-ons and have to work hard to keep the neurons in check!!!
I have started putting in bids on used TF101 Tablets which I intend to use generously. For the Simpit seat, I am heavily leaning towards a Playseat Air Force flight seat. I'm also looking at the Saitek Pro Flight 52X.