New to orbiter 2016.

HierisLars

Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm new to orbiter and quite like it so far! I have played a lot of kerbal space program before so I have a basic understanding of orbital mechanics and stuff. I will post my progress from time to time because I need 10 posts to be eligible to enter the discord server.

If you guys have any tips for a beginner like me, please tell me!

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums ! :hailprobe:

If you come from KSP the very different thing is that in Orbiter like in real life orbits tend to "decay" because of tidal forces. Orbiter simulates the gravitational interaction between multiple gravity sources, like Sun-Earth-Moon. Also the atmospheric model is more accurate than in KSP, and atmosphere expands much farther. So the ISS orbiting at 400km of altitude will require a re-boost from time to time, like in real life.

Also overall the Orbiter philosophy is to focus on orbital mechanics, and let the add-on devs focus on the vessel modules engineering stuff. Stuff like NASSP (Apollo) will show you how far things can be pushed, they even emulated the flight computers which is quite crazy !

Arvil

Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Read the manuals, visit the orbiter wiki (https://www.orbiterwiki.org/wiki/Main_Page), search here, and ask many questions. We’re here to help. Start with the basic delta glider, better learning curve before tackling more difficult stuff. Wikipedia is a good source for orbital mechanic basics and the like. Most of all enjoy. If you crash your craft, don’t worry, most of us crash more than we succeed, at least I do.

Arvil

Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
he/him
Oh, yeah, forgot. There’s a bunch of really good stuff on YouTube. Just put Orbiter in the search bar. If a picture is worth a thousand words, videos are worth millions.

4throck

Enthusiast !
Reaction score
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com