OHM Nimitz (CVN76)

OrbitHangar

Addon Comments
Joined
Apr 9, 2008
Messages
3,832
Reaction score
11
Points
0

Author: marcogavazzeni

This vessel was created for Beep Carrier Operations Script Vessel, made available to all users exclusively for ORBITER. We recommend using the D3D9



DOWNLOAD
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
991
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Got a CTD

Code:
000000.000: >>> ERROR: No vessel class configuration file found for:
============================ ERROR: ===========================
cvn76
[Vessel::OpenConfigFile | .\Vessel.cpp | 243]

Something seems to be missing :hmm:
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Milan
It runs on my end but only in cockpit view. If I switch to external view all I can see is black space.... :blink:

Tried with Orbiter 2016
 

marcogavazzeni

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Near Verona
Website
orbiteritalia.forumotion.com
I tried it on Orbiter SVN R 71 and everything works, check that the cvn76.cfg file is in the "Vessels" folder.

It may be unstable as a support point because it is developed with spacecraft3.
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Milan
I tried it on Orbiter SVN R 71

I have R2 installed (haven't updated much since release :embarrassed:). Could it be the reason why I can't see anything in external view?

Actually it works with the inline graphic client. Could it be something with D3D9 then?..
 
Last edited:

BEEP

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
152
Reaction score
12
Points
18
Just downloaded but already noticed that the .cfg folder name is wrong in the package: Should be CONFIG\VESSELS


....Then it works ....OMG it's a beauty!

Marco, I can't state enough my gratitude for having a so talented partner in this project.

Now there's a lot of work to do!

Again thanks a lot for joining me in this project.

Beep
 
Last edited:

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Milan
Just downloaded but already noticed that the .cfg folder name is wrong in the package: Should be CONFIG\VESSELS
....Then it works ....

Unfortunately it doesn't here. I have installed all the files manually hence the wrong .cfg folder naming has no effect.

The ship is invisible in both external and internal view when using D3D9 GC.
Any idea why this happens?
 

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,843
Reaction score
94
Points
123
Location
Cape
Spacecraft3 doesn't work with 2016. You need Spacecraft4. But Spacecraft4 has issues with Dx9. :(
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Milan
Spacecraft3 doesn't work with 2016. You need Spacecraft4. But Spacecraft4 has issues with Dx9. :(

So how comes that BEEP and Marco say it works for them :shrug:
 

BEEP

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
152
Reaction score
12
Points
18
I'm using the standard render and spacecraft 4 (a lot!). In my opinion(?) if it works with the standard render it should work with the optional render ......


If anyone can convince Martin to expand the script API to include a vessel keyboard input processing and cockpit view animated meshes we may have an open source "scriptcraft" to handle legacy Vinka's spacecraft vessel description files (.ini) and associated meshes.


Nevertheless, the script version for the Nimitz is on the way.
Maybe I'll issue a first quick release without the planned elevator and JBD animations and I'll add them later. Everything is going better than I expected. Already made my first test landing using the new deck arrest coords.
 
Last edited:

Donamy

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Oct 16, 2007
Messages
6,843
Reaction score
94
Points
123
Location
Cape
You only need 2 sequences in the SC3 .ini, because you are only using two keys (G,K).

Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME="nimitz"
SIZE = 10
COG=70
EMPTY_MASS = 100000000 ; empty mass [kg]
FUEL_MASS = 2500000 ; max fuel mass [kg]
MAIN_THRUST = 100000000
LAND_PT1=(0,-27,15)
LAND_PT2=(-15,-27,-15)
LAND_PT3=(15,-27,-15)


VISIBLE=1
;CAMERA=(0,17,-150)
FOCUS=1

;================ RADAR, all radars with different rotation times
[ANIM_SEQ_0]
; RADAR 1
KEY=G
DURATION=2
REPEAT=1


;================== ELEVATOR, DOORS, JET BLAST, etc.
[ANIM_SEQ_1]
; HANGAR ELEVATOR
KEY=K
DURATION=4
REPEAT=0



;================= RADAR GROUP
[ANIM_COMP_0]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=48
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(36.11876,17.82702,-74.76087)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=360.

[ANIM_COMP_1]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=6,49
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(36.51144,22.14981,-63.55459)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=360.

[ANIM_COMP_2]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=5
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(41.47433,28.10987,-66.0733)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

[ANIM_COMP_3]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=2
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(30.52837,22.03604,-66.07139)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

[ANIM_COMP_4]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=3
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(35.98703,16.55044,-53.21339)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

;===============RIGHT ELEVATOR
[ANIM_COMP_5]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=35,40,45
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,-12.8,0.)

;===============LEFT ELEVATOR
[ANIM_COMP_6]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=32,39,44
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,-12.8,0.)

;===============RIGHT DOORS
[ANIM_COMP_7]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=15,29
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,12.)

[ANIM_COMP_8]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=16,30
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,24.)

[ANIM_COMP_9]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=31
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,-1.)

;===============LEFT DOORS
[ANIM_COMP_10]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=14,28
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,12.)

[ANIM_COMP_11]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=13,27
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,24.)

[ANIM_COMP_12]
SEQ=1
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=26
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,-1.)

;===============LEFT JET BLAST DEFLECTOR

[ANIM_COMP_13]
SEQ=1
GROUPS=20,36,41
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(0.,-6.008628,31.90523)
ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0)
ANGLE=55.

;===============RIGHT JET BLAST DEFLECTOR

[ANIM_COMP_14]
SEQ=1
GROUPS=21,37,42
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(0.,-6.017903,35.58532)
ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0)
ANGLE=55.







[SOUND]
MAIN_THRUST=Sound/Vessel/none
HOVER_THRUST=Sound/Vessel/none
 

BEEP

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
152
Reaction score
12
Points
18
I have changed the touchdownpoints "footprint" to achieve more stability on ground (water) and added an attachment parent CV point which I'm using to try and check path coordinates.

Code:
[CONFIG]
MESHNAME="nimitz"
SIZE = 10
COG=70
EMPTY_MASS = 100000000 ; empty mass [kg]
FUEL_MASS = 2500000 ; max fuel mass [kg]
MAIN_THRUST = 100000000
LAND_PT1=(0,-27,166.5)
LAND_PT2=(-50,-27,-111)
LAND_PT3=(50,-27,-111)


VISIBLE=1
;CAMERA=(0,17,-150)
FOCUS=1

;================ RADAR, all radars with different rotation times
[ANIM_SEQ_0]
; RADAR 1
KEY=G
DURATION=2
REPEAT=1

[ANIM_SEQ_1]
; RADAR 2
KEY=G
DURATION=3
REPEAT=1

[ANIM_SEQ_2]
; RADAR 3/4
KEY=G
DURATION=2.5
REPEAT=1

[ANIM_SEQ_3]
; RADAR 5 (BIG)
KEY=G
DURATION=1.8
REPEAT=1

;================== ELEVATOR, DOORS, JET BLAST, etc.
[ANIM_SEQ_4]
; HANGAR ELEVATOR
KEY=K
DURATION=4
REPEAT=0
;================= RADAR GROUP
[ANIM_COMP_0]
SEQ=0
GROUPS=48
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(36.11876,17.82702,-74.76087)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=360.

[ANIM_COMP_1]
SEQ=1
GROUPS=6,49
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(36.51144,22.14981,-63.55459)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=360.

[ANIM_COMP_2]
SEQ=2
GROUPS=5
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(41.47433,28.10987,-66.0733)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

[ANIM_COMP_3]
SEQ=2
GROUPS=2
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(30.52837,22.03604,-66.07139)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

[ANIM_COMP_4]
SEQ=3
GROUPS=3
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(35.98703,16.55044,-53.21339)
ROT_AXIS=(0,1,0)
ANGLE=-360.

;===============RIGHT ELEVATOR
[ANIM_COMP_5]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=35,40,45
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,-12.8,0.)

;===============LEFT ELEVATOR
[ANIM_COMP_6]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=32,39,44
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,-12.8,0.)

;===============RIGHT DOORS
[ANIM_COMP_7]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=15,29
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,12.)

[ANIM_COMP_8]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=16,30
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,24.)

[ANIM_COMP_9]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=31
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,-1.)

;===============LEFT DOORS
[ANIM_COMP_10]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=14,28
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,12.)

[ANIM_COMP_11]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=13,27
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,24.)

[ANIM_COMP_12]
SEQ=4
TYPE=TRANSLATE
GROUPS=26
RANGE=(0.,1)
SHIFT=(0.,0.,-1.)

;===============LEFT JET BLAST DEFLECTOR

[ANIM_COMP_13]
SEQ=4
GROUPS=20,36,41
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(0.,-6.008628,31.90523)
ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0)
ANGLE=55.

;===============RIGHT JET BLAST DEFLECTOR

[ANIM_COMP_14]
SEQ=4
GROUPS=21,37,42
RANGE=(0.,1.)
ROT_PNT=(0.,-6.017903,35.58532)
ROT_AXIS=(1,0,0)
ANGLE=55.




[SOUND]
MAIN_THRUST=Sound/Vessel/none
HOVER_THRUST=Sound/Vessel/none


[PARENT_ATTACH_0]
ID="C4VC_0"
POS=( -0.5,-6.008628,-95) 
DIR=(0,0,1) 
ROT=(0,1,0)
LOOSE= 0
RANGE=	1000000
 

marcogavazzeni

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Near Verona
Website
orbiteritalia.forumotion.com
You only need 2 sequences in the SC3 .ini, because you are only using two keys (G,K).

Using only two keys the rotation time of the radar is the same for all groups.

SC3 serves only for demonstration purposes, not having much stability with the support points, even the mass and the data are only indicative.
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,293
Reaction score
583
Points
203
So if SC3 works with Orbiter 2016 for you, any idea of what could be my problem?..
My guess is that you haven't created the necessary symbolic links. You can do this by going Video>Advanced>Create symbolic links.
 

marcogavazzeni

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Jan 5, 2009
Messages
217
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
Near Verona
Website
orbiteritalia.forumotion.com
My guess is that you haven't created the necessary symbolic links. You can do this by going Video>Advanced>Create symbolic links.

Could be? It should work with the standard Orbiter, without any symbolic link.

So if SC3 works with Orbiter 2016 for you, any idea of what could be my problem?..

Do you have other ships that work with SC3 / 4?
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,293
Reaction score
583
Points
203
Could be? It should work with the standard Orbiter, without any symbolic link.
They're needed for Orbiter_NG due to a flaw in SC*'s file handling coding. It causes SC* to look for the INI files in the wrong folder. Instead of looking in Config\Spacecraft or Config\Vessels\Spacecraft it looks in Modules\Server\Config\Spacecraft (non-existant folder) or Modules\Server\Config\Vessels\Spacecraft (once again, a non-existant folder).
 

Wolf

Donator
Donator
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
1,091
Reaction score
10
Points
38
Location
Milan
My guess is that you haven't created the necessary symbolic links. You can do this by going Video>Advanced>Create symbolic links.

I had symbolic links already installed before adding Nimitz. If I try to generate that again from the Video/Adavnced/Create symbolic links path the message pops up saying that symbolic links exists already.
I remember there was a way to add new symbolic links of new addons installed (I think it has to be done manually) but I can't recall how to do that... maybe copying and pasting the .cfg folder in cfg/modules/server ?

Ok I copied and pasted the cvn76 cfg/spacecraft and cfg/Vessels files into the related folder in cfg/modules/server and now I can see the Carrier in D3D9 mode.
Thanks

---------- Post added at 03:34 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:02 AM ----------

---------- Post added at 03:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:36 PM ----------

How is the hard deck function implemented? Is it the same as for beep carrier i.e. Adding an attachment point to the vessel you want to land/launch from the carrier?
 
Last edited:

BEEP

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Apr 5, 2008
Messages
152
Reaction score
12
Points
18
How is the hard deck function implemented? Is it the same as for beep carrier i.e. Adding an attachment point to the vessel you want to land/launch from the carrier?


It is not.

This is, for now, just a mesh demo. This addon will be necessary when I have the new Script Carrier version ready. I'm trying to have a preliminary, partially functional, version quickly uploaded. It will have two catapults and the planes will leave the hangar and climb to the deck ( the lifters will follow them later).

Today I climbed from the hangar using the two lifters and took off from the two catapults so the path through the deck is mostly defined.
 
Top