Problem Orbiter 2016 crashes to desktop

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,313
Reaction score
1,550
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So I recently have seen this problem. I will load a scnario and it crashes to the desktop but no message.

Here is the log:
Code:
**** Orbiter.log
000000.000: Build Aug 28 2016 [v.160828]
000000.000: Timer precision: 6.83948e-007 sec
000000.000: Found 0 joystick(s)
000000.000: Devices enumerated: 6
000000.000: Devices accepted: 5
000000.000: [ ] RGB Emulation (SW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (HW)
000000.000: [ ] Direct3D HAL (AMD Radeon HD 8330) (HW)
000000.000: [x] Direct3D T&L HAL (AMD Radeon HD 8330) (HW)
000000.000: Module AtlantisConfig.dll .... [Build 180201, API 160828]
000000.000: Module AtmConfig.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module DGConfigurator.dll .... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module ScnEditor.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: 
000000.000: **** Creating simulation session
000000.000: DirectDraw interface OK
000000.000: Direct3D interface OK
000000.000: Graphics: Viewport: Window 1394 x 1021 x 32
000000.000: Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
000000.000: Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
000000.000: Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
000000.000: Loading 15382 records from star database
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: >>> ERROR: DDraw error DDERR_BLTFASTCANTCLIP
000000.000: >>> [OrbiterGraphics::clbkBlt | .\OGraphics.cpp | 1633]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: Module Sun.dll ............... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(E) Sun: Precision 1e-006, Terms 554/6634
000000.000: Module Mercury.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mercury: Precision 1e-005, Terms 167/7123
000000.000: Module Venus.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module VenusAtm2006.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Venus: Precision 1e-005, Terms 79/1710
000000.000: Module Earth.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module EarthAtmJ71G.dll ...... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Earth: Precision 1e-008, Terms 2564/2564
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Parse error from base definition file for ZZA - Zaragoza: Block: TEXn: expected 3 values (*char, scalar, scalar)
[BaseObject::ParseError | .\Baseobj.cpp | 184]
===============================================================
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Parse error from base definition file for ZZA - Zaragoza: Block: TEXn: expected 3 values (*char, scalar, scalar)
[BaseObject::ParseError | .\Baseobj.cpp | 184]
===============================================================
000000.000: BaseObject: Parse error 2
000000.000: Module Moon.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
ELP82: Precision 1e-005, Terms 116/829
000000.000: Module Mars.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module MarsAtm2006.dll ....... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Mars: Precision 1e-005, Terms 405/6400
000000.000: Module Phobos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Deimos.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Galsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Jupiter.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Jupiter: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1624/3625
000000.000: Module Io.dll ................ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Europa.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Ganymede.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Callisto.dll .......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Satsat.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
000000.000: Module Saturn.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Saturn: Precision 1e-006, Terms 2904/6365
000000.000: Module Mimas.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Mimas: Terms 113
000000.000: Module Enceladus.dll ......... [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Enceladus: Terms 33
000000.000: Module Tethys.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Tethys: Terms 101
000000.000: Module Dione.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Dione: Terms 59
000000.000: Module Rhea.dll .............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Rhea: Terms 68
000000.000: Module Titan.dll ............. [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Titan: Terms 100
000000.000: Module Iapetus.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
SATSAT Iapetus: Terms 605
000000.000: Module Uranus.dll ............ [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Uranus: Precision 1e-006, Terms 1827/5269
000000.000: Module Miranda.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Ariel.dll ............. [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Umbriel.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Titania.dll ........... [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Oberon.dll ............ [Build ******, API 060425]
000000.000: Module Neptune.dll ........... [Build 160828, API 160828]
VSOP87(B) Neptune: Precision 1e-006, Terms 391/2024
000000.000: Finished initialising world
000000.000: Module europaclipper.dll ..... [Build 180524, API 160828]
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
000000.000: >>> WARNING: Obsolete API function used: VESSEL::SetBankMomentScale
000000.000: At least one active module is accessing an obsolete interface function.
000000.000: Addons which rely on obsolete functions may not be compatible with
000000.000: future versions of Orbiter.
000000.000: ---------------------------------------------------------------
---------------------------------------------------------------
and the scn:
Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Current scenario state


Contains the latest simulation state.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 56742.8372920692
  Help CurrentState_img
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship Clipper
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET Clipper
  MODE Cockpit
  FOV 53.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Orbit
  PROJ Frame
  FRAME Ecliptic
  REF Jupiter
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
Clipper:EUROPACLIPPER
  Magnet 0 0.0000
  PANEL1 1 0.0000
  SOLP 0 0.0000 1 0.5
  PANELEXT 0 0.0000
  PANELEND 1 0.0000
  Radar 0 0.0000
  Radar1 0 0.0000
  STATUS Orbiting Jupiter
  RPOS 9459527252.253 324280154.552 412887855.561
  RVEL 10115657.5255 346781.6557 441771.9980
  AROT 62.196 -53.759 13.677
  RCSMODE 2
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:0.999193
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 0
END
END_SHIPS
and cfg:
Code:
; === ORBITER Master Configuration File ===
EchoAllParams = FALSE
LPadRect = -8 0 1920 1048

; === Visual parameters ===
EnableVesselShadows = FALSE
EnableLocalLights = TRUE

; === Visual helper parameters ===
Bodyforces = 72 1 1

; === Device settings ===
DeviceIndex = 4
ModeIndex = 8
WindowWidth = 1400
WindowHeight = 1050

; === User interface parameters ===
MenubarMode = 0
SelVesselTab = 3

; === Window positions ===
DlgInfoPos = 1031 549 1401 1030
DlgFocusPos = 1110 88 1420 472
LpadScnListWidth = 339
LpadModListWidth = 213
LpadExtListWidth = 213

; === Active plugin list ===
ACTIVE_MODULES
  ScnEditor
END_MODULES

It sometimes loads and and sometimes CTD. It only seems to do it on my vessels that I am working on.

It is odd I am not getting a message that I crashed?
 

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,407
Reaction score
341
Points
83
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
It sometimes loads and and sometimes CTD. It only seems to do it on my vessels that I am working on.
In that case I would hazard that
(a) there is a bug in your vessel code, or
(b) there is a bug in the Orbiter code that is exposed by your vessel's interaction with the API
Either way, debugging your code should help narrowing down the problem.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,313
Reaction score
1,550
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks. Well I did the process of elimination method. Comment stuff til it worked and then look at that code. I think I found I had referenced a thruster but didn't make it. on the Europa Clipper. But I need to check to see if it did the same on the Shuttle
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
7,313
Reaction score
1,550
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So This is weird. I am launching the Europa Clipper using SLS. Does good. I then get ready for the journey. Then do a quick save. but when I load the quicksave it CTD no mention and nothing in the log.

I am going to reload Orbiter and MS2015 and SLS

One log entry that may help is this:000436.464: >>> ERROR: DDraw error DDERR_SURFACELOST
000436.464: >>> [OrbiterGraphics::clbkGetSurfaceDC | .\OGraphics.cpp | 1727]
000436.464: ---------------------------------------------------------------
--------------------------- WARNING: --------------------------
>>> On simulation shutdown 2 graphics objects were not released
>>> [CD3DFramework7::DestroyObjects | .\D3d7frame.cpp | 86]
---------------------------------------------------------------
============================ ERROR: ===========================
Destroy framework objects failed
[OrbiterGraphics::Exit3DEnvironment | .\OGraphics.cpp | 1138]
===============================================================
001974.279: **** Closing simulation session
001974.279:
001974.279: **** Creating simulation session
001974.279: DirectDraw interface OK
001974.279: Direct3D interface OK
001974.279: Graphics: Viewport: Fullscreen 1280 x 720 x 32
001974.279: Graphics: Hardware T&L capability: Yes
001974.279: Graphics: Z-buffer depth: 32 bit
001974.279: Graphics: Active lights supported: 8
001974.279: Loading 15382 records from star database

Not sure if running full screen versus a window is an issue?
 

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
985
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
So the vessel runs OK if loaded on a default "launch" configuration. But it crashes when loaded on an "cruise" configuration?

My guess is that your status logic might be flawed or not saved correctly.
If you remove all status indications from the scenery, does it work?

I'm talking about stuff like this:
Magnet 0 0.0000
PANEL1 1 0.0000
SOLP 0 0.0000 1 0.5
PANELEXT 0 0.0000
PANELEND 1 0.0000
Radar 0 0.0000
Radar1 0 0.0000
 
Top