Orbiter 2016 - RC.1

martins

Orbiter Founder
Orbiter Founder
Joined
Mar 31, 2008
Messages
2,448
Reaction score
462
Points
83
Website
orbit.medphys.ucl.ac.uk
Please try out the release candidate.

It's available as ZIP and MSI package:


Both versions are about 2.5GB in size.

Note that the MSI version is packaged as a self-extracting exe. This was necessary because the MSI format doesn't allow for MSI files larger than 2GB, so I had to include the actual contents as external CAB files. The SFX file simply extracts the MSI and CAB files, and then launches the MSI installer.
It still installs like a normal Windows application, i.e. can be uninstalled the usual way.

The packages contain the latest Orbiter beta snapshot (SVN r.58), plus low-resolution versions of the planetary textures. I've included some local high-res areas as showcases:
  • Earth: KSC
  • Earth: Alps
  • Moon: Area around Brighton Beach
  • Mars: Valles Marineris
  • Mars: Olympus Mons

Please install the RC into a new directory. Don't install it into your SVN beta checkout directory. Otherwise it gets hard to test, and might upset your SVN version.

There is also a D3D7 client to go with this RC, if you want to try it:
http://mirror.orbiter-radio.co.uk/orbiter/assets/packages/Orbiter_RC/d3d7client2016.zip

I'm going to update the download site for the planet texture packs to align with the RC, essentially removing the low-res packs (which are now bundled into the Orbiter package), and switching the high-res to the new compressed archive format.

Please let me know what you find regarding major problems. Keep in mind that Orbiter remains a work in progress, so this release won't be (and doesn't aim to be) perfect. I won't add any more features, and will leave minor problems to upcoming patches. Otherwise we might wait another six years for the release. :p
 

llarian

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 1, 2009
Messages
586
Reaction score
163
Points
58
Location
Ottawa
Thank you, Doctor. It does seem to be a Tuesday !!
 

sputnik

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Apr 3, 2008
Messages
424
Reaction score
0
Points
31
Location
Palmdale
Website
www.worldof2001.com
Fantastic! Looking good!

The Surface mode HUD always used to have a little marker pointing to the direction of the spaceport you were headed to. I see the .doc still says it's there, in Section 14.3. But I can't bring it up. It neither triggers off a spaceport selected in an MFD, nor using CTRL-R. How do I get the blasted surface marker to work?
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Works flawlesly both in inline and d3d9. Amazing work.
 

Shifty

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jul 24, 2013
Messages
395
Reaction score
0
Points
16
Location
San Diego
Awesome! Is there any place to get release notes without having to download the whole client?
 

Fabri91

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
2,179
Reaction score
234
Points
78
Location
Valmorea
Website
www.fabri91.eu
Thank you for your continued effort! :) (This obviously extends to add-on developers, especially for the D3D9 client)
 

birdmanmike

Active member
Joined
Jan 20, 2016
Messages
104
Reaction score
0
Points
31
Location
High Peak
Thanks for this! One thing - should Enjo's goodies for the beta work with this as is or should we hang fire
 

Loru

Retired Staff Member
Retired Staff
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Sep 30, 2008
Messages
3,731
Reaction score
6
Points
36
Location
Warsaw
Is Orbiter Sound compatible with this release? Thank's for the great work!

Appears to work however instead gear up and down callouts I got radiator callouts.
 

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,665
Reaction score
13
Points
38
Location
Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
Preferred Pronouns
Can't you smell my T levels?
Thanks for this! One thing - should Enjo's goodies for the beta work with this as is or should we hang fire
They should work. I will prepare official releases for OH once Orbiter2016 moves out of RC versions.

---------- Post added at 08:45 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:44 PM ----------

Yep. they work.
 

Fabri91

Donator
Donator
Joined
Jun 2, 2008
Messages
2,179
Reaction score
234
Points
78
Location
Valmorea
Website
www.fabri91.eu
A small issue I saw on the launchpad: after exiting a scenario all folders and scenarios show up twice:
zULfYtN.jpg
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,665
Reaction score
2,387
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Interesting ... Can anybody reproduce this? Is it a Windows10 specific problem?

Can't confirm it here, no duplicates in Windows 10.
 

GLS

Well-known member
Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
5,963
Reaction score
2,990
Points
188
Website
github.com
Interesting ... Can anybody reproduce this? Is it a Windows10 specific problem?

I remember having this once or twice a while back. Using windows 7.
 
Top