Request Orbiter Base Editor

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,208
Reaction score
482
Points
173
I thought I would post this here, since it seems there's some interest in this which is a Orbiter Base Editor similar in capabilities as to this utility: https://www.orbithangar.com/showAddon.php?id=843d44ed-0816-4ea3-b767-d4748d002bf5

Unfortunately, this is only compatible with Orbiter 2010-P1 and earlier and the author seems to be long gone, so no updates for it to work with Orbiter 2016. So, something like it that can be used to visually edit Orbiter 2016 bases would be very helpful.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
8,657
Reaction score
2,270
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
Yes, it would be very very welcome ! (y)
 

spacedad57

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Points
18
I just unziped it to main orbiter folder and it ran all I can say is try it.I used it yesterday to add a pad and buildings to Overburg South Africa
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
36,681
Reaction score
1,312
Points
203
Location
Langendernbach
I just unziped it to main orbiter folder and it ran all I can say is try it.I used it yesterday to add a pad and buildings to Overburg South Africa

No problems with the Earth textures?
 

spacedad57

Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
1
Points
18
If you want to make a new base you have to look up the longitude and latitude and put them in and it should still work
 

MaxBuzz

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 19, 2016
Messages
819
Reaction score
1,200
Points
108
Location
Kursk
tool works in half, the part responsible for the tiles of the surface does not work, since the orbiter 2016 has a volumetric relief, in contrast to the orbiter 2010
how to put your tiles on the surface is a very frequently asked question on the forum
 

DaveS

Space Shuttle Ultra Project co-developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,208
Reaction score
482
Points
173
But I wonder if we could export 2016 surface tiles using TerrainTools and import them to this tool.
The tile boundaries should be the same...
Exactly. Part of base creation/editing now is to make sure that the very terrain itself fits with what you have in mind for the base. This is something the original Orbiter Base Maker can't do, so something new is required.
 
Top