Question Quickstart Mode for NASSP 8.0

DDasng1352

Addon Tester
Joined
May 1, 2021
Messages
465
Reaction score
84
Points
28
Location
Los Angeles
Hi again,
Is there going to be a Quickstarter mode for NASSP 8.0 like there was in 7.0? I'm wondering because I have a hard time flying missions in 8.0 and I think it would be good for all the beginners as well. Please let me know if it's possible.
 

jalexb88

Active member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
125
Reaction score
72
Points
28
Location
Canada
Yep, there is a Quickstart mode: https://www.acsoft.ch/AMSO/amso.html :LOL:

In all seriousness though, the old "Quickstart" mode in NASSP was removed since in was a big mess in the code and was interfering with the main goal of having as much realism as possible. The simplicity of having only one mode "Max Realism" means we can focus all the energy on developing the spacecraft and systems as they are and not having to make multiple versions that are "easier" and "harder" if that makes any sense.

One thing we can improve to help novice users is documentation. The checklist MFD is good but I guess eventually we should also add some tutorials, maybe make some videos that show major maneuvers and such. This is definitely an area that needs improvement.
 

DDasng1352

Addon Tester
Joined
May 1, 2021
Messages
465
Reaction score
84
Points
28
Location
Los Angeles
I‘m having a very hard time landing, so I would recommend an tutorial on landing. Also is there a way to activate auto landing for V8.0
 
Last edited:

jalexb88

Active member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
125
Reaction score
72
Points
28
Location
Canada
I‘m having a very hard time landing, so I would recommend an tutorial on landing. Also is there a way to activate auto landing for V8.0

I would recommend using the "Apollo 11 - 12 - Before PDI T+102h28min" scenario found in the "Apollo - Mission Scenarios" folder. It has everything set up for PDI minus 10 minute mark. Just follow the checklist MFD from there, If you want the LM to land automatically just leave the PGNS switch on AUTO during the entire landing.

If you want to make it a bit easier for now you can skip all the AGS steps in the checklist MFD as those are not required for a successful landing. To skip a step, push the "FAIL" button the the checklist MFD. What you can do at the start of the scenario is click the FAIL button until you get to the yellow (PDI -5) step, then carry on from there. By the way, when the checklist item is yellow in the MFD, you always have to manually sequence to the next step with the PRO or FAIL button. If the item is green it will automatically sequence to the next step when the action has been completed provided the AUTO mode is enabled.
 
Last edited:

jalexb88

Active member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
125
Reaction score
72
Points
28
Location
Canada
Yes, you have to manually sequence the yellow steps with PRO or FAIL buttons

By the AGS steps I mean all the items before the (PDI -5) step can be skipped if you want, just keep clicking FAIL until you get to (PDI -5).
 

DDasng1352

Addon Tester
Joined
May 1, 2021
Messages
465
Reaction score
84
Points
28
Location
Los Angeles
I am also getting TELECOM fail. See the photo bellow.
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot (411).png
    Screenshot (411).png
    576 KB · Views: 26

jalexb88

Active member
Joined
Aug 11, 2008
Messages
125
Reaction score
72
Points
28
Location
Canada
I am also getting TELECOM fail. See the photo bellow.

Sometimes this happens for me if I have Orbiter running along with a 2nd instance running in the background from a previous session or whatever. On rare occasions Orbiter doesn't terminate properly I think, you can check the Task Manager.

The PGNS switch is under "MODE CONTROL", right above the DSKY, to the left of the AGS switch. It is already in AUTO on your screenshot.
 

DDasng1352

Addon Tester
Joined
May 1, 2021
Messages
465
Reaction score
84
Points
28
Location
Los Angeles
Another Quick Q: How do you land the LM at Tycho. As shown in this video. Credits: Indianajones91
 

rcflyinghokie13

LM Junky
Addon Developer
Joined
Jun 4, 2016
Messages
112
Reaction score
18
Points
18
Just really quick, a message board and forum doesn't take well to multiple posts in succession with different questions it makes it hard for others to follow and answer your questions.

I suggest making a new post for other additional (non followup) questions or jump into IRC and chat live :)

Additionally if discord is your thing, we have a pseudo nassp support channel here https://discord.gg/Dh8PVG58

Not trying to be rude but it just isn't how a message board is designed lol.
 

DDasng1352

Addon Tester
Joined
May 1, 2021
Messages
465
Reaction score
84
Points
28
Location
Los Angeles
Just really quick, a message board and forum doesn't take well to multiple posts in succession with different questions it makes it hard for others to follow and answer your questions.

I suggest making a new post for other additional (non followup) questions or jump into IRC and chat live :)

Additionally if discord is your thing, we have a pseudo nassp support channel here https://discord.gg/Dh8PVG58

Not trying to be rude but it just isn't how a message board is designed lol.
I joined the Discord, if your wondering what my discord username and tag is, it is Sir Markieto#0016
 
Top