OHM RV Orientation

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Thanks - now fixed. See updated v3.01 download on Orbit Hangar.

(I added a check for no TGT selected, as of course you need this before knowing how many ports to cycle through them with PRT.)
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Two things to check:

1. Do you have any stray MSVCR100.dll files in your Orbiter directory tree? If yes, then delete it.

2. Go here http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/confirmation.aspx?id=26999 and download and run vcredist_x86.exe to make sure you have good clean versions of the runtimes. (MSVCR100.dll is the release runtime for MS VC++ 2010.)
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Announcing RV Orientation v3.02...

Minor modification to complete the hook-up to Enjo's new version of LaunchMFD. RV Orientation will now auto-populate its target from LaunchMFD on MFD launch (or MFD reinitialize - e.g. F8 virtual cockpit back to internal cockpit):

1. Launch MFD has a valid ship target (i.e. not a planet, etc.)
2. RV Orientation does not have a target (i.e. nothing pre-set or loaded with the scenario)

Cheers and greets to my buddy Enjo!

{For other addon developers out there ... we now have a general way to pass useful information between MFD's. If interested - PM Enjo and me for details.}
 

pclaurent

Daydreamer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thanks for this great module. Did you test it with the beta-test Orion MPCV from Francis Drake (http://orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=34839&page=8) ?
With it, I experience the same problem than with Univeral Auto Pilot when trying to dock. The autopilot just doesnt manage the particular RCS vs gravity center of the Orion capsule...
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Thanks for this great module. Did you test it with the beta-test Orion MPCV from Francis Drake (http://orbiter-forum.com/showthread.php?t=34839&page=8) ?
With it, I experience the same problem than with Univeral Auto Pilot when trying to dock. The autopilot just doesnt manage the particular RCS vs gravity center of the Orion capsule...

No - I haven't tried that vessel. However, the RV Orientation code has a self-calibration system for new vessels. Did you try this out?

Give me a start scenario file and a description of hat happens, and I'll reproduce. (If this is new to you, get your session to where you want it, then hit ctrl-s, and then Alt-F4 to exit. Then go into Sessions\Quicksave and find the .cfg file corresponding to your session. Finally, cut & paste it into a reply here, inside [ CODE ] dkjngkdnfg [ /CODE ]. (without the spaces around CODE)
 

pclaurent

Daydreamer
Joined
Dec 21, 2014
Messages
49
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Autopilot for Orion MPCV

Yes, I've calibrated the autopilot with the Orion MPCV vessel.
Here is the sample scenario. We are facing ISS port 1, RVEL 0 m/s.
When running the RV Orientation autopilot, it simple moves away from the target, trying to synchronize RCS throttles without success. If you chat with Francis, he will probably tell you that this problem is not quite surprising as it is due to the specific implementation of the RCS thrusters on the Orion crew module, i.e. off-centered. If I understand well, the solution would be to use only one thruster at a time. If this is it, perhaps could you add an option for one-at-a-time and sequential thrusts?
 

Attachments

  • (Current state) 0001.scn
    2.4 KB · Views: 5

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Understood on the issue. You mean sequencing thruster groups, not individual thrusters. Francisdrake mentioned not thrusting multiple groups at the same time.

For interest, I already sequence rotation thrusts versus translation thrusts, so this would be a 6-way interlock instead.
 
Last edited:

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Announcing RV Orientation v3.03...

Fixed the Orion MPCV behavior. Interesting thruster configs ... I had to rework the way I run the autopilot to support this vessel properly (and all others stay the same).

I also reduced RCS fuel usage for docking by around 50%. Enjoy guys.
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Announcing a minor update to RV Orientation (now v3.04). This version drops the last dependency on ModuleMessaging, and updates it to Enjo's and my new ModuleMessagingExt. Other than that ... zero differences.
 

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
755
Reaction score
16
Points
33
Location
New York State
Announcing a minor update to RV Orientation (now v3.04). This version drops the last dependency on ModuleMessaging, and updates it to Enjo's and my new ModuleMessagingExt. Other than that ... zero differences.
Just a heads up that this plugin doesnt work with the shuttle fleet. When I did the calibration it reported that some of the thrusters are showing it as zero. Im not sure if it has to do with the way David programmed the addon or something.
 

ADSWNJ

Scientist
Addon Developer
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
2
Points
38
Just a heads up that this MFD does not work with the Shuttle Fleet. for some reason some of the axis' reported 0 numbers. Im not sure if it has something to do with they way it was coded.

Could be that this fleet is coded to too old a VESSEL definition. Can you give me a .scn file and the download for the fleet, and I'll take a look.
 

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
755
Reaction score
16
Points
33
Location
New York State
You can download the shuttle fleet from here

http://simviation.com/1/browse-Space+Orbiter-111-1

Its called Shuttle Fleet 4.8 Release 2

And here is the scenario.
Good Luck

And this isnt the only addon is affected by this. a bunch of others I think are also affected.
Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Contains the latest simulation state.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 54539.0481846003
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship Constitution
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET Constitution
  MODE Cockpit
  FOV 40.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Docking
  NAV 0
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Docking
  NAV 0
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE User
  MODE RV Orientation
  RVO_TGT ISS
  RVO_PRT 0
  RVO_UNITS METRIC
  RVO_DST 500
  RVO_MOD 2
  RVO_APR 1
  RVO_APT 1
  RVO_APA 1
END_MFD

BEGIN_SHIPS
ISS:ProjectAlpha_ISS
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS -844190.01 -6390407.60 1967161.70
  RVEL -7496.964 1315.578 1081.349
  AROT 110.00 -10.00 80.00
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000
  IDS 0:588 10 1:586 10 2:584 10 3:582 10 4:580 10
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 466
END
Constitution:Shuttle
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1.#R 1.#R 1.#R
  RVEL 1.#QO 1.#QO 1.#QO
  AROT 0.00 -0.00 0.00
  VROT 0.00 0.00 18000.00
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.#QNAN0
  THLEVEL 20:1.#QNAN0 23:1.#QNAN0 24:1.#QNAN0 27:1.#QNAN0 33:1.#QNAN0
  NAVFREQ 544 0
  CONFIGURATION 3
  OV- 106
  RENDER 
  RMSARM 
  ODS 
  CARGODOOR 1 1.0000
  KUBAND 1 1.0000
  POSTLAND 0 0.0000
  SSMES 1 1.0000
  ADTA 0 0.0000
  PETD 0 0.0000
  SETD 0 0.0000
  ARMTILT 1 1.0000 1 1.0000
  PRADIATOR 0 0.0000
  SRADIATOR 0 0.0000
  GEAR 0 0.0000
  PAYLOAD_MASS1 0.0000
  PAYLOAD_MASS2 0.0000
  PAYLOAD_MASS3 0.0000
  ARM_STATUS 0.5000 0.1122 0.0849 0.5000 0.5000 0.5000
  PL1_OFS 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
  PL1_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL1_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
  PL2_OFS 0.000000 0.000000 0.000000
  PL2_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL2_ROT 1.000000 0.000000 0.000000
  PL3_OFS -1.850000 1.800000 11.750000
  PL3_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL3_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
  PL4_OFS -2.200000 1.800000 -6.250000
  PL4_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL4_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
  PL5_OFS 2.200000 1.800000 -6.250000
  PL5_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL5_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
  PL6_OFS 1.850000 1.800000 11.750000
  PL6_DIR 0.000000 1.000000 0.000000
  PL6_ROT 0.000000 0.000000 1.000000
  KEEL_CAM 0.145000 -0.500000 -1.356000
END
Leonardo:Leonardo_mplm
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS 1.#R 1.#R 1.#R
  RVEL 1.#QO 1.#QO 1.#QO
  AROT 0.00 -0.00 0.00
  VROT 0.00 0.00 18000.00
  ATTACHED 0:0,Constitution
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 477
END
END_SHIPS
 
Last edited:

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
Could be that this fleet is coded to too old a VESSEL definition. Can you give me a .scn file and the download for the fleet, and I'll take a look.
The official release of HUD drawer library for Orbiter 2010 is compatible only with VESSEL3, so even VESSEL2 is left behind
Similarly for Orbiter BETA, only VESSEL4 is supported.
 
Last edited:

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
755
Reaction score
16
Points
33
Location
New York State
The official release of HUD drawer library for Orbiter 2010 is compatible only with VESSEL3, so even VESSEL2 is left behind
Similarly for Orbiter BETA, only VESSEL4 is supported.
If that's the case then the Shuttle Fleet is at VESSEL2, from what I understood correctly. But Can you make this MFD work with it? or is it impossible.
 

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Nov 25, 2007
Messages
1,658
Reaction score
6
Points
38
Location
Hildesheim, Germany
Website
www.enderspace.de
No it's not possible, because I'd switch the Shuttle's virtual table, with a virtual table of the previously selected vessel (assuming it's VESSEL3-derived), and since these are incompatible, the program would corrupt memory and CTD.
It's a matter of contacting the author of the addon and asking him to update it... or switch to an alternative.
 

jgrillo2002

Conservative Pioneer
Addon Developer
Joined
Mar 17, 2008
Messages
755
Reaction score
16
Points
33
Location
New York State
No it's not possible, because I'd switch the Shuttle's virtual table, with a virtual table of the previously selected vessel (assuming it's VESSEL3-derived), and since these are incompatible, the program would corrupt memory and CTD.
It's a matter of contacting the author of the addon and asking him to update it... or switch to an alternative.
I was afraid of that. :beathead: Well David413 would be the guy you would need to talk to, and theres no way to communicate with him. Another option would be that if RVO can have a reverse compatibility that would have VESSEL2 Tables as well as VESSEL3. Ill tell you this though, this addon does a realistic simulation of the TORRVA procedure for the shuttle and IMHO its imperative to have it work with VESSEL2. But thats up to you guys if you got the resources that is.




-EDIT-
I PMd David on Dan's Orbiter Page. I hope he still goes there to see the PM or that he still reads the email. Only time will tell.
 
Last edited:
Top