SDK Question Setting Up Visual Studio - Newbie building errors with sample projects

Satamanster

Reaction score
Hi everyone, so I'm new to programming but I've been using orbiter for a while and made up my mind on messing around with the sample projects from the sdk to see if I could start learning something.

For the sake of troubleshooting I'm using Orbiter2016 and Visual Studio 2022.
So I installed both software and followed the instructions detailed on this page.

However, when getting to the point of actually building the solution a bunch of errors started popping up and since I'm new to both c++ and visual studio i have no idea how to solve them.

Note: The one thing I did different from the page i mentioned is that my OrbiterDir is actually c:\Orbiter2016
Also I note that for some reason he mentions that the CustomMFD should be on the root of the sdk and doesn't mention the samples folder, but I'm gessing that's not the issue. I have no idea what I'm doing.

Houston, we have a problem:

Code:
Build started...
1>------ Build started: Project: CustomMFD, Configuration: Debug Win32 ------
1>C:\Program Files\Microsoft Visual Studio\2022\Community\MSBuild\Microsoft\VC\v170\Microsoft.CppBuild.targets(1374,5): warning MSB8012: TargetPath(C:\Orbiter2016\Orbitersdk\samples\CustomMFD\Debug\CustomMFD.dll) does not match the Linker's OutputFile property value (c:\Orbiter2016\Modules\Plugin\CustomMFD.dll). This may cause your project to build incorrectly. To correct this, please make sure that $(OutDir), $(TargetName) and $(TargetExt) property values match the value specified in %(Link.OutputFile).
1>   Creating library C:\Orbiter2016\Orbitersdk\samples\CustomMFD\Debug\CustomMFD.lib and object C:\Orbiter2016\Orbitersdk\samples\CustomMFD\Debug\CustomMFD.exp