Software slow in windowed mode

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
hi,
I have an ati x1600 running xp with catalyst 9.3 drivers.
orbiter runs fine in full screen, but in windowed mode when the flight path marker is out of the screen it is sluggish, it lags one time per second.
This happens both with orbiter 2006 and 2009 beta, all modules disabled..

thanks.
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,460
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
Whats your FPS?
 

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
230-250 fps

---------- Post added 09-29-2009 at 12:01 AM ---------- Previous post was 09-28-2009 at 11:51 PM ----------

lol, I tried to record a video, and when it's recording orbiter runs fine...
when I close the reconrding orbiter starts to lag...

---------- Post added at 12:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:01 AM ----------

no sorry, orbiter is sluggish even with the video recorder, but lags happen more frequently, so it's looks more fluid..
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,460
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
You sure that that is your frame rate? That's awfully high.
 

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,580
Reaction score
2
Points
0
You sure that that is your frame rate? That's awfully high.
For Orbiter that's actually very normal for a good computer running XP.
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,460
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
I guess I forgot to ask what addon and system specs he was using.
 

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
-core 2 duo 6400
-2 gb ram
-xp sp2
-ati x1600

using orbiter 2006 p1 clean without modules (2009 has this issue too)

I've made a video with my camera (bad quality):


---------- Post added at 02:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 02:45 AM ----------

ok, I switched to 16 bit color, and now it's fluid, but there are some artifacts on top of the screen:

http://dl.getdropbox.com/u/158338/Immagine.JPG
 

MJR

C++ developer in the mix
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Joined
Mar 19, 2008
Messages
2,460
Reaction score
5
Points
0
Location
United States
Is there any APs on?
 

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Does opening the F4 menu have any affect?

it's a bit slower maybe

---------- Post added at 07:03 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:59 PM ----------

with full screen it becomes slow when I open the f4 menu...

also, in 16 bit color it is fluid only with the internal views, if I switch to external view (f1) it's slow again...
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,293
Reaction score
583
Points
203
Check that you're not in RGB Emulation mode(the video video tab of the main Orbiter Launchpad dialog).
 

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
no I'm in direct3d t&l (ati x1600) but I've tried also direct3d hal.
 

TSPenguin

The Seeker
Joined
Jan 27, 2008
Messages
4,075
Reaction score
4
Points
0
Check your driver settings. Is everything turned off or on application controlled?
 

kk

New member
Joined
Aug 22, 2009
Messages
7
Reaction score
0
Points
0
ok, I solved,
in catalyst control center, "smooth video: antialiasing" was in "let application choose", I unchecked it and now it's fluid (with every antialiasing setting: 2X to 6X)
 

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,580
Reaction score
2
Points
0
For Vista / Win 7 about 40-60 would be avg.

Sorry couldn't resist to bash Vista and it's stripped down clone. :lol:
I'm sorry, what?

The exact reasons why Orbiter doesn't run as well on Vista/Win7 as XP are covered in another thread.

My tests additionally showed that it runs better on Win7 than Vista on the same machine, although still not as good as XP (due to the DirectX/GDI interop thing).
 

Cornflake

New member
Joined
Feb 5, 2008
Messages
117
Reaction score
3
Points
0
Location
Colorado, USA
I didn't say that I don't know the exact reasons.

I'm not even going to bother with W7, honestly it's a rebranded Vista and I already see the usual pattern of companies using it as an excuse to discontinue drivers for products that would work fine on it. My $60 mouse being one of them. But I'm way off topic, I didn't mean to start a discussion about the whole thing.
 

Hielor

Defender of Truth
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
May 30, 2008
Messages
5,580
Reaction score
2
Points
0
I'm not even going to bother with W7, honestly it's a rebranded Vista and I already see the usual pattern of companies using it as an excuse to discontinue drivers for products that would work fine on it. My $60 mouse being one of them. But I'm way off topic, I didn't mean to start a discussion about the whole thing.
It's very much *not* a rebranded Vista, and the vast majority of the world disagrees with you here (hey, it just launched yesterday, it's hard to look around the internet without seeing glowing reviews of it...)

What mouse? In general, if something worked on Vista, it will probably work on Win7. Plus, in the years to come, you're going to have the opposite problem: new hardware won't have drivers available for XP.
 
Top