spaceshuttle ultra on orbiter 2016

RogerRollDiscovery

New member
Joined
Mar 24, 2021
Messages
1
Reaction score
1
Points
1
Location
La Spezia
i cant manage to install SSU for orbiter 2016, ive been trying to follow the guide but the link to install the files doesnt work, anyone knows how to help me? i really wanna fly a realistic sapceshuttle :(
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,434
Reaction score
689
Points
203
I'd stay away from SSU at moment as it is nowhere near done. It still has alot of outstanding bugs and not all systems are implemented, like for example the Data Processing System (DPS). Right now we're using a very simplified version of it that doesn't quite hold up anymore. A new more accurate DPS is on the agenda but that's TBD for now.
 

N_Molson

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Mar 5, 2010
Messages
9,282
Reaction score
3,250
Points
203
Location
Toulouse
On a positive note SSU devs have started separate Space Shuttle projects which will certainly be quite realistic. Give them some time. ?
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,609
Reaction score
2,330
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
On a positive note SSU devs have started separate Space Shuttle projects which will certainly be quite realistic. Give them some time. ?

Still - if you are expecting a complete, userfriendly add-on, you are wrong here.

SSU is an add-on in (eternal?) development.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,701
Reaction score
2,678
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So Got a question. This is from SSU. What tells the Bridgerails to be seen?
yPcjFjz.jpg

Noticed the trunnions is there but no latch.
epvSmd3.jpg


Where the payloads spaced equally on the bridgerails?
 

DaveS

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Beta Tester
Joined
Feb 4, 2008
Messages
9,434
Reaction score
689
Points
203
The bridge rails are controlled by the Bridgerails parameter in the mission file. And the payload retention latches could be mounted at 3.933 inch increments. Of the potential 172 attach points on the longerons, 48 are unavailable because of the proximity of spacecraft hardware. The remaining 124 may be used for deployable payloads. Along the centerline keel, 89 attach points are available, 75 of which may be used for deployable payloads.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,701
Reaction score
2,678
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
The bridge rails are controlled by the Bridgerails parameter in the mission file.
Thanks. Didn't see that in the scn? From this part of the scn:
Oh I saw it in the Mission cfg

Bridgerails=6,10,12


CentaurG_Prime:SSU_CentaurGPrime STATUS Orbiting Earth RPOS 3899763.023 1150438.783 5215474.866 RVEL -5956.7337 -1421.7274 4771.9618 AROT 91.215 15.378 -128.555 VROT 0.0091 -0.0041 0.0592 ATTACHED 0:23,Atlantis AFCMODE 7 PRPLEVEL 0:0.954121 1:1.000000 NAVFREQ 0 0 MISSION STS-61G END
It has the Centaur attached at point 23. Why not latches on the Centaur?
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,701
Reaction score
2,678
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
On the bridge rails. I suppose here both latches are on the same Bridge rail and the keel attachment is at the center ?
7ZC7Knk.jpg


but here. the trunnion is just in front of the keel
xPCls9y.jpg


And the placement is in inches rather than bay,......

FNGaIsy.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,701
Reaction score
2,678
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
A bit confused. So one drawing has the starting X at 582. first attachment point is 612.73 and the other has starting x at 576.

I know see where the Bridge rails are seen or not based off the mission profile.

But what about the gas beam adapers? They fit where the rails are and seem to be different as the rails attach on the top or bottom hole. So if the rail is attached at the top the gas beam would need to attach on the bottom. and reverse if the rail attaches on the bottom the GAS adapter would need to attach on the top

U0K72hY.jpg

0LAIg1P.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,701
Reaction score
2,678
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
This is the beam adapter with the Imax camera for sts 46. It was in Bay 3.

BZqhncG.jpg
 

Sbb1413

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 14, 2018
Messages
948
Reaction score
373
Points
78
Location
India
Preferred Pronouns
he/his/him
i cant manage to install SSU for orbiter 2016, ive been trying to follow the guide but the link to install the files doesnt work, anyone knows how to help me? i really wanna fly a realistic sapceshuttle [sic] :(
Unfortunately, the SSU add-on for Orbiter 2016 is still overwhelmed with bugs and errors, as @DaveS pointed out. Until the mess is over (which might take some years at best, several generations at worst), you can try the less realistic but still amazing Space Transportation System 2016 add-on by @gattispilot. Besides, @GLS (the former developer of SSU) has forked the Space Shuttle Ultra to develop his own add-on aptly named Space Shuttle Vessel (SSV).

By the way, :welcome: to our forum!
 
Last edited:
Top