The easiest things to do...

SolarLiner

It's necessary, TARS.
Addon Developer
Reaction score
... Are the hardest to compute. And that truth hit me hard. So hard when I went to the barber the other day, she had a look at my hair and said "Whoa, you're losing your hair already, baldness is getting to you!" (true story). The thing was I knew that already. Because that thing made me pull my hair out.
3500aafc469c954f5d46a9e2599bcfe5.png

That thing, is Tile Maker. It's an idea I have over a year and a half ago, that I started coding, and then kinda left as my interest for Orbiter lost temporarily. but now, I've been working on it and oh boy, did I not remember how hard was it.

So basically, Tile Maker is a tool that allows you to take an image, give it it's coordinates, and the tool will chop it up so that it's exactly at the locations you gave them. Easy enough, right?
Wrong. I thought that. And now when I remember going like "surely this can't be too hard", I violently facepalm. The first problem that arise is which tiles will be used? And that's actually relatively simple, you take the lat/lon coordinates of the bounds, and calculate the tile that is underneath each point. If the image is aligned with the North, and we'll assume it is to not make things anymore complicated than they are, then you only need two points to be able to define the rectangle and all the tiles it sits on. And, by extension, only two tiles to get the array of tiles in between.
So you need to have a function that given a coordinate, will return you the tile it sits on. But to do that, you need the tile definition level.
This level is the surface tile level in Orbiter. And you could either leave that option to the user, or you could go the harder way.