The question about a burn time calculation

Phil Smith

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
hi everybody!:tiphat:
so can anyone help me out - how to calculate a project burning time for TLI etc.?
for example -
we have a spacecraft that weights 200,000 pounds at LEO with 2engines 500,000 N thrust each, spec. impulse - 420s
and how can i calculate the burn time for trans-lunar of trans-mars injection?
i'll appreciate your answers much:hailprobe:

PS - i know the question might sound simple but im just a rookie for awhile :lol:

Jarvitä

Reaction score
First, you'd have to calculate the delta-V required - see [ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hohmann_transfer"]Hohmann Transfer[/ame]. Then, you'd have to integrate that with regards to your spacecraft's varying acceleration relative to the changing mass. As long as you assume a constant mass flow and constant thrust, it's not that complex a calculation.

Phil Smith

Donator
Donator
Reaction score
oh man thanx! nice reading!
btw, did you mean to calculate the burnin time from Tsiolkovsky rocket equation?
deltaV = Isp*LN((M + Mprop)/M)
so for exemple -
deltaV = 3.5 km/s
Isp = 4200 m/s
M = 200,000 lb (spacecraft dry mass)
and from that equation we'll find the propellent mass Mprop
Mprop = (exp(deltaV/Isp))*M-M = (exp(3.5/4.2))*200,000 - 200,000 = 260,500 lb
and knowin engine mass flow (mdot) we can calculate burning time (t)..
Engine mdot = 500lb/sec, we got two of them so mdot = 500*2 = 1,000 lb/sec
and t = Mprop/mdot = 260,500/1,000 = 260.5 sec..
uh, is this way correct?:facepalm:

Last edited:

Relayer91

Reaction score
oh man thanx! nice reading!
btw, did you mean to calculate the burnin time from Tsiolkovsky rocket equation?
so for exemple -
deltaV = 3.5 km/s
Isp = 4200 m/s
uh, is this way correct?:facepalm: