Discussion Tutorial on how to create animations for 2D panel

asbjos

tuanibrO
Addon Developer
Reaction score
This is a tutorial for creating animations in a 2D panel. While I more or less pick up from the last blog post by martins from 2010, this is not to be considered as a continuation of that.
I am no programmer, and there quite possibly are more ways to achieve the same effect. But nevertheless, this is a working solution, and as I believe there is no other tutorial on animations in a 2D panel, I hope this is helpful for somebody.

We are going to go step for step through the process of recreating a basic function from the periscope of the Mercury capsule.
The periscope was used for navigation, so that the astronaut could orient himself in space, even without other working navigational aids.
It was essentially a window with a wide lens, allowing a high field of view, with several marks on the viewfinder.
You can see them in the Mercury Familiarization Guide here.
We are here implementing what is shown on the right hand page (page 12-5, page 355 in PDF), namely the altitude reticles and 5° pitch and roll reticles.

The 5° reticles showed when the capsule was ±5° from a 14.5° pitch down 0° roll position.
And if the entire Earth fit within the square of the altitude reticles, the capsule was in a perfect 14.5° pitch down 0° roll attitude.
When in the set orientation, the altitude reticles were a clever solution to allow the astronaut to estimate the altitude within an uncertainty of less than 10 km, something that was useful in a time when communications could be very spotty, and had nothing but himself to determine his state.

We begin where the last blog of martins ended.
We have the current code in clbkLoadPanel2D:
PHP:
bool ProjectMercury::clbkLoadPanel2D(int id, PANELHANDLE hPanel, DWORD viewW, DWORD viewH)
{
	const DWORD PANEL2D_WIDTH = 2160; // Panel mesh width, and my screen width