SSU Orbit Ops - X,Y and Z DV's

dabella

Reaction score
Team,

I have some background skills about Orbit Operations with the standard Orbiter MFD's (Sync, Align) using prograde, retrograde, orbit normal and antinormal burns.

Now I'm trying to project these skills in the CRTMFD of SSU and I will be really thankful if someone can give me tips to accelerate my learning process in regard to this.

Looking at MM105 and 202 that are the main modes I want to use for a OMS-2 and later to target the ISS orbit, I have read a lot of how they work and basically I need to get more info about how to get the DV’s for X,Y and Z. I understand what the axes stand for and that for a prograde burn in OMS-2 I’ll need to put a number in the DVX (item19) but I really don’t know how to calculate it.

I have read about the EquationMFD and the IMFD. The first one seems to give you the tools to calculate this but in a lot of steps. The second one I heard is easier but I don’t find it in Orbit-Hangar.

So, if anyone can give me a tip here, I will be more than thankful J
Am I in the right path? Is there something I am missing?

Marry xmas, happy new year all,

Daniel

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
You just calculate the velocity changes between two orbits... search for Interplanetary MFD, it can give you good numbers without requiring many manual calculations. Alternatively you just use the formulas from your favorite text book,... for example the Fundamentals of Astrodynamics.

C3PO

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
EquationMFD is quite easy to use when you get up to speed. ;)

It takes a few steps to get the result, but you don't HAVE to press [t] ASAP.:lol:

dabella

Reaction score
Thanks guys,
I now have both MFD's so i will make it through :)
It seems that some calculations are unavoidable if we like this :)

Daniel

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire