Tutorial A cue-sheet based general approach to atmospheric entry

Thorsten

Reaction score
Hi to everyone.

Brief introduction - my name is Thorsten Renk, I'm a theoretical physicist by profession, and as part of my spare-time activities I'm part of the development team of the Flightgear OpenSource simulator, mainly doing weather simulation and coding OpenGL shaders. I am fascinated by all sorts of flight, which includes spaceflight, which is the reason why I'm currently looking into Orbiter as well.

Like probably others, I've been wondering about how to time de-orbit and re-entry burns correctly such as to bring a Shuttle onto the runway. On simply trying, I felt completely lost as to what exactly I had to control. I've been googling for tutorials and read some, but I feel they mostly skirt around the issues by providing a cooking recipe rather than a solid generally applicable checklist, or rely too much on 'need to practice'. At the same time, I prefer hands-on flying over an automated solution (it always seems a bit odd to me to have a simulated autopilot control a simulated plane...). I believe I've found a rather neat solution which I would like to share.

This solution applies to spacecraft with a controlled re-entry trajectory like the Shuttle or the Delta Glider - it won't work for a capsule like Vostok.