Add on station idea

lassombra

Reaction score
I've been playing around with orbiter for approximately 6 years now. I've done so quietly, not really getting involved in the community, but constantly reading up on it, and learning, tweaking my skills. I've reached the point now where I can take the space shuttle into orbit with a realistic payload, and fly a relatively realistic mission. One of the things that has helped me massively is the people who have developed all the great MFDs out there (I'm an addon junkie, I admit it). Lately, I've really been enjoying Ummu and UCGO, but have noticed there's not a lot of options for space station construction using ummu. I'd really like to *build* a ummu compatible space station, give it consumables missions, really have some fun with it. So here's my idea, and why I'm weighing in.

It occurred to me that since I have a significant amount of programming experience, I probably could make a module without too much difficulty (new API learning curve not withstanding) to allow individual ships to be docked, converted to attached, and allow ummus to be "shared" between them, using some parent vessel to house the ummus. Attaching would mean that the craft would have a more predictable superstructure behavior, allowing one vessel to be the "controller" vessel which maintains current mass and cg for the station. So after about 2 hours of perusing the sdk docs, I have come up with the following concept for fully ucgo/ummu compatible station modules (laugh if you must, but I haven't found it, and I'd like to have it to play with, and maybe OFSS4 can use it?)

Design concepts:

• All modules would share a common class. This class would have different capabilities depending on if the module is a control module or a support module.
  • Limit of one "control" module per station.
  • Support modules can provide resources
    • Electricity
    • Heat
    • Water
    • Fuel
    • Torque (think gyros for attitude control)