C++ Question Can't redraw standard MFD labels

DesideriusPapp

Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm working on a spacecraft with a .dll. I'm a complete C++ noob, and using VC++ 2008 express edition. I'm trying to put toghether a VC and am currently busy with standard MFD's.

I got to the point of correctly displaying the MFD's and making buttons work - now I'm stuck with the redraw of labels. Here's the code:

Code:
bool Strelka::clbkVCRedrawEvent(int id, int event, SURFHANDLE surf)
{
  int bt;
  const char *label;
  switch (id)
  {
    case AID_MFD_R_LEFT:
      hDC = oapiGetDC (surf);
      for (bt = 0; bt<6; bt++)
      {
        if (label = oapiMFDButtonLabel (MFD_RIGHT, bt))
        TextOut (hDC, 5, 2+20*bt, label, strlen(label));
        else break;
      };
    case AID_MFD_R_RIGHT:
      return true;
  };
oapiReleaseDC (surf, hDC);
return true;
}

I derived it from the OrbiterSDK API Guide and the code samples that come along with it (DG and ShuttleA). The point is that when I try and compile I get the following compiling error:

1>.\Strelka.cpp(134) : error C2664: 'TextOutW' : cannot convert parameter 4 from 'const char *' to 'LPCWSTR'
1> Types pointed to are unrelated; conversion requires reinterpret_cast, C-style cast or function-style cast

Some Google told me that the point lies in the charachter set (UNICODE or ANSI), thus I tried changing the configuration properties of my project from [Use Unicode Charachter Set] to [Use Multi-Byte Charachter Set]. The code compiles but I get a CTD if I try to switch to VC. Same result by keeping [Use Unicode...] and changing the line

TextOut (hDC, 5, 2+20*bt, label, strlen(label));

to

TextOut (hDC, 5, 2+20*bt, (LPCWSTR) label, strlen(label));

i.e.: it compiles, but I get a CTD when going to VC.