Vessel Chang'e 4 Lander, Rover, Queqiao and Longjiang 1 and 2 Lunar probes

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Well we need a launch and landing scn.

The satellites can be made for as stated before requires a lot of navuagation
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Here is the info on the longjiangs:
https://space.skyrocket.de/doc_sdat/dslwp-a.htm

So if I just do this:
Have the dish folded up and press a key or when dettached from 3rd stage then show unfolded mesh
l2RmPEP.jpg


working on the March 4c.
Might just reuse the 3b and repaint remove boosters,....
replace this dll for lander for lander with thrust,rcs. You may need to add fuel in the scn editor.

https://drive.google.com/open?id=18oeP2rDU_6RUFQt1bxncw9FecdWMvgZ8

---------- Post added at 04:49 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:00 AM ----------

So looking at the LM4C.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Long_March_4C
http://www.xinhuanet.com//english/2015-08/27/c_134561308_4.htm

So it looks likes the interface between 1st and 2nd is open? Trying to see where the stage separate.
 
Last edited:

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
This will put Yuyu 2 on Von Karman
ab78cf1083911494.png



Code:
BEGIN_DESC
Yutu 2
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System Sol
  Date MJD 58489.7286727116
  Help CurrentState_img
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship CHANGE4WHEELS
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET CHANGE4WHEELS
  MODE Extern
  POS 3.869257 149.047557 -9.024085
  TRACKMODE TargetRelative
  FOV 58.27
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_SHIPS
ISS:ProjectAlpha_ISS
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS -3907959.291 -5025223.859 2196319.383
  RVEL -6095.9511 4687.9888 -121.4701
  AROT 82.729 26.522 6.242
  VROT 0.0938 -0.0522 0.0073
  AFCMODE 7
  IDS 0:588 100 1:586 100 2:584 100 3:582 100 4:580 100
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 466
END
CHANGE4:CHANGE4BODY1
  ARM0 0.5000
  ARM1 0.5000
  ARM2 0.5000
  CAMY 0.5000
  CAMZ 0.5000
  CAMMAST 1.0000
  CAM1 0.5000
  PANEL 0 0.0000
  ANT1 0 0.0000
  STATUS Landed Moon
  POS -80.6758980 28.5227620
  HEADING 0.0
  ALT 1.997
  AROT 46.121 -60.996 17.073
  ATTACHED 0:1,CHANGE4WHEELS
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
END
CHANGE4WHEELS:GV_CHANGE4WHEELSnew
  STATUS Landed Moon
  POS 177.6053431 -45.4711951
  HEADING 0.00
  ALT 0.869
  AROT -1.334 -3.722 -135.351
  AFCMODE 7
  NAVFREQ 0 0
END
END_SHIPS


Turning is still a bit off, if should turn more. But it's looking good, keep it up!

With the latest .dll, the lander becomes invisible :)
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX

4throck

Enthusiast !
Joined
Jun 19, 2008
Messages
3,502
Reaction score
1,008
Points
153
Location
Lisbon
Website
orbiterspaceport.blogspot.com
Gave it a quick test and it's fun to fly! Thanks!

Only tested the rocket + lander ;)

Main problems are:
- The current lander vessel orientation doesn't match the main engine. Prograde is switched with normal + . Perhaps it's better to define a hover engine ?
- Landing points are not good and it has brakes ? It tumbles when you try to land.

Nice to have:
- downward facing camera for the landing
- lander deck camera


I've converted the Blender meshes into Orbiter format, will send them to you by mail tomorrow ;)
You will need to reapply textures, for some reason they didn't export.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So on the landing gear
Code:
const double totalweight = MASS + FUELMASS ;
const double xtx_target = -0.1;
const double xtst = (-1)*(totalweight*9.80655) / (3 * xtx_target);
const double xtda = 0.9*(2 * sqrt(totalweight*xtst));

static const DWORD ntdvtx_geardown = 4;
static TOUCHDOWNVTX tdvtx_geardown[ntdvtx_geardown] = {
	{ _V(-4, -3.28, -4), xtst, xtda, 30.0, 30 },
	{ _V(4, -3.28, -4), xtst, xtda, 30.0, 30 },
	{ _V(4, -3.28, 4), xtst, xtda, 30.0, 30 },
	{ _V(-4, -3.28, 4), xtst, xtda, 30.0 }
};

and hover engine:
Code:
th_hover[0] = CreateThruster(_V(0, 0, 0), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
AddExhaust(th_hover[0], 1, 0.3, _V(0, -2.8, 0), _V(0, -1, 0));
thg_hover = CreateThrusterGroup(th_hover, 1, THGROUP_HOVER);
 

Jeremyxxx

Active member
Joined
Jan 25, 2013
Messages
296
Reaction score
88
Points
43
Location
Dawson Springs
It has been a week, and I have been waiting patiently for the work on Queqiao and the Longjiangs to be resumed.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Well I am back. Trying to compile the satelite and have run into an issue:
op9Fh24.jpg


not sure if my compiler is broke?
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Well I got it to work. Need to start on the other sats. Not sure how/where they are attached. Working on launch of the 4c also. And getting the lander set.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Mf3jjuI.jpg

1Hb2P1L.jpg


So I can launch the Sat.
I tried to have when detached from the 3rd stage open up but it wouldn't.:
Code:
if (GetAttachmentStatus(Queqiaobottom)){

		SetMeshVisibilityMode(DISHOPEN, MESHVIS_ALWAYS);
		
		SetMeshVisibilityMode(DISHCLOSED, MESHVIS_NEVER);

	}

But the other BIG issue is the lander.
Can't get the landing points to keep it from moving around and then ending upside down.
Code:
const double pesototal = MASS +FUELMASS;
const double xtx_target = -0.1;
const double xtst = (-1)*(pesototal*9.80655) / (3 * xtx_target);
const double xtda = 0.9*(2 * sqrt(pesototal*xtst));

static const DWORD ntdvtx_geardown = 4;
static TOUCHDOWNVTX tdvtx_geardown[ntdvtx_geardown] = {
	{ _V(-4, -3.2806, -4), xtst, xtda, 0.0, 0 },
	{ _V(4, -3.2806, -4), xtst, xtda, 0.0, 0 },
	{ _V(4, -3.2806, 4), xtst, xtda, 0.0, 0 },
	{ _V(-4, -3.2806, 4), xtst, xtda, 0.0 }
};

Code:
{
	// physical specs
	SetSize (1.5);
	SetEmptyMass(MASS);
	SetCW (0.3, 0.3, 0.6, 0.9);
	SetWingAspect (0.1);
	SetWingEffectiveness (0.1);
	SetCrossSections (_V(6.05,15.26,6.17));
	SetRotDrag (_V(0.1,0.1,0.1));
	if (GetFlightModel() >= 1) {
		SetPitchMomentScale (1e-4);
		SetBankMomentScale (1e-4);
	}
	SetPMI (_V(4.08,1.31,4.18));
	SetTrimScale (0.05);
	SetCameraOffset (_V(0,2,.731));
	double ro = Passo;
	//SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx, ntdvtx);

	//SetTouchdownPoints(_V(0, .001, 1), _V(-1.6, .001, -1), _V(1.6, .001, -1));;

	SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx_geardown, ntdvtx_geardown);
	SetSurfaceFrictionCoeff(20, 30);

Got a mesh for the other sats. I may just cover the body in gold foil and call it a day
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
So 4throck and I have been trying to get the lander to land. We may use Fred's add on and make the lander sc4 and use a dll vessel for cameras,....

One Major resaon not to use a dll for me. When I fire the hover engine. The vessel goes up but starts to spin and rotate. Best guess is the COG is off. Not matching the center of the ship.

But not sure how to set it. I have the thruster set at 0,0,0.
bwCcljb.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Some images of the launch of the satellites
FCh7ItK.jpg

B2GPIhr.jpg

c79ueO5.jpg


The lander is what I am still having issues with. Sure it can be static on the lunar surface. But I am trying to get the thruster/flight right so if someone wanted to try to land her.

I have done all that I know. Ran the mesh and got the cross reference and pmi. I spread the hover thrust out.

But as soon as I apply hover thrust I start to rotate

Code:
void CHANGE4LANDER::clbkSetClassCaps(FILEHANDLE cfg)
{
	// physical specs
	SetSize (1.5);
	SetEmptyMass(MASS);
	SetCrossSections (_V(6.05,15.26,6.17));
	SetRotDrag (_V(0.1,0.1,0.1));
	//if (GetFlightModel() >= 1) {
	//	SetPitchMomentScale (1e-4);
	//	SetBankMomentScale (1e-4);
	//}
	SetPMI (_V(4.08,1.31,4.18));
	SetTrimScale (0.05);
	SetCameraOffset (_V(0,2,.731));
	double ro = Passo;
	//SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx, ntdvtx);

	//SetTouchdownPoints(_V(0, .001, 1), _V(-1.6, .001, -1), _V(1.6, .001, -1));;

	SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx_geardown, ntdvtx_geardown);
	SetSurfaceFrictionCoeff(50, 40);
EnableTransponder (true);
mesh_MSL = AddMesh(oapiLoadMeshGlobal("change4lander3"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode(mesh_MSL, MESHVIS_ALWAYS); //Main ship mesh
//LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -1.06, -.371), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, -1), "ROVER", false);
LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -2.130815, -.671), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, 1), "ROVER", false);
//0, -2.130815, -1.388644

ph_main = CreatePropellantResource(FUELMASS);

th_hover[0] = CreateThruster(_V(5, 0, 5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[1] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, 5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[2] = CreateThruster(_V(5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[3] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);

AddExhaust(th_hover[0], 1, 0.3, _V(0, -2.8, 0), _V(0, -1, 0));
thg_hover = CreateThrusterGroup(th_hover,4, THGROUP_HOVER);
 

kuddel

Donator
Donator
Joined
Apr 1, 2008
Messages
2,064
Reaction score
508
Points
113
...just a thought...
maybe you introduce another (RCS) thrust when you intentionally only want hovering.
E.g. by accidentally using a variable / reference that should only be used for hover, but was (re-)used by another thruster ...
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,667
Reaction score
104
Points
78
Some images of the launch of the satellites
FCh7ItK.jpg

B2GPIhr.jpg

c79ueO5.jpg


The lander is what I am still having issues with. Sure it can be static on the lunar surface. But I am trying to get the thruster/flight right so if someone wanted to try to land her.

I have done all that I know. Ran the mesh and got the cross reference and pmi. I spread the hover thrust out.

But as soon as I apply hover thrust I start to rotate

Code:
void CHANGE4LANDER::clbkSetClassCaps(FILEHANDLE cfg)
{
	// physical specs
	SetSize (1.5);
	SetEmptyMass(MASS);
	SetCrossSections (_V(6.05,15.26,6.17));
	SetRotDrag (_V(0.1,0.1,0.1));
	//if (GetFlightModel() >= 1) {
	//	SetPitchMomentScale (1e-4);
	//	SetBankMomentScale (1e-4);
	//}
	SetPMI (_V(4.08,1.31,4.18));
	SetTrimScale (0.05);
	SetCameraOffset (_V(0,2,.731));
	double ro = Passo;
	//SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx, ntdvtx);

	//SetTouchdownPoints(_V(0, .001, 1), _V(-1.6, .001, -1), _V(1.6, .001, -1));;

	SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx_geardown, ntdvtx_geardown);
	SetSurfaceFrictionCoeff(50, 40);
EnableTransponder (true);
mesh_MSL = AddMesh(oapiLoadMeshGlobal("change4lander3"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode(mesh_MSL, MESHVIS_ALWAYS); //Main ship mesh
//LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -1.06, -.371), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, -1), "ROVER", false);
LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -2.130815, -.671), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, 1), "ROVER", false);
//0, -2.130815, -1.388644

ph_main = CreatePropellantResource(FUELMASS);

th_hover[0] = CreateThruster(_V(5, 0, 5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[1] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, 5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[2] = CreateThruster(_V(5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
th_hover[3] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);

AddExhaust(th_hover[0], 1, 0.3, _V(0, -2.8, 0), _V(0, -1, 0));
thg_hover = CreateThrusterGroup(th_hover,4, THGROUP_HOVER);

I don't think the settrimscale helps you, so in anycase I would take it out.

On the other hand, I experimented that if you don't have an active flight control system it can happen that when you fire multiple engines together the reaction is very realistic, as if they were not fired exactly together.

So, at least as a test I would condensate the 4 engines in just one engine applied in _V(0,0,0) and then add 4 exhausts, to see if it works properly in this way.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,737
Reaction score
2,708
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Code:
void CHANGE4LANDER::clbkSetClassCaps(FILEHANDLE cfg)
{
	// physical specs
	SetSize (1.5);
	SetEmptyMass(MASS);
	SetCrossSections (_V(6.05,15.26,6.17));
	SetRotDrag (_V(0.1,0.1,0.1));
	//if (GetFlightModel() >= 1) {
	//	SetPitchMomentScale (1e-4);
	//	SetBankMomentScale (1e-4);
	//}
	SetPMI (_V(4.08,1.31,4.18));
	//SetTrimScale (0.05);
	SetCameraOffset (_V(0,2,.731));
	double ro = Passo;
	//SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx, ntdvtx);

	//SetTouchdownPoints(_V(0, .001, 1), _V(-1.6, .001, -1), _V(1.6, .001, -1));;

	SetTouchdownPoints(tdvtx_geardown, ntdvtx_geardown);
	SetSurfaceFrictionCoeff(50, 40);
EnableTransponder (true);
mesh_MSL = AddMesh(oapiLoadMeshGlobal("change4lander3"));
SetMeshVisibilityMode(mesh_MSL, MESHVIS_ALWAYS); //Main ship mesh
//LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -1.06, -.371), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, -1), "ROVER", false);
LR2 = CreateAttachment(false, _V(0, -2.130815, -.671), _V(0, 1, 0), _V(0, 0, 1), "ROVER", false);
//0, -2.130815, -1.388644

ph_main = CreatePropellantResource(FUELMASS);

th_hover[0] = CreateThruster(_V(0, 0, 0), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
//th_hover[1] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, 5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
//th_hover[2] = CreateThruster(_V(5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);
//th_hover[3] = CreateThruster(_V(-5, 0, -5), _V(0, 1, 0), 10000/4, ph_main, RCS_ISP);

AddExhaust(th_hover[0], 1, 0.3, _V(0, -2.8, 0), _V(0, -1, 0));
thg_hover = CreateThrusterGroup(th_hover,1, THGROUP_HOVER);

So I merge the hover back into one

When I apply hover the lander rises but starts to rotate along the y axis.
Z7ElYmV.jpg


Not sure if the issue is the hover thruster at 0,0,0 is not at the center of the mesh?
 

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 2, 2012
Messages
1,667
Reaction score
104
Points
78
Not sure if the issue is the hover thruster at 0,0,0 is not at the center of the mesh?

Surely not, in orbiter there is no link between physics of the vessel and the mesh, which is just its graphical representation.
 
Top