Problem Is this a bug? Apoapsis and periapsis changing on their own

Reaction score
I am still a beginner, but I can get XR2 to ISS and dock by now. Sometimes, however, I’m encountering some anomalies. In my last attempt, I adjusted my apoapsis to catch up to ISS, it placed it quite close to periapsis - about 366k and 357k. When I tried to raise it back, I noticed that something odd happened, at least with the MFD - about 20-30 seconds from periapsis or apoapsis, the counter would start going up for no apparent reason, as would my altitude, so that I would never reach periapsis or apoapsis. I’ve never noticed this one before and I don’t think it’s supposed to happen. I have all perturbations on so maybe that’s the reason somehow? But why would it only happen now and not on 30 or so other flights.

Buck Rogers

Major Spacecadet
Reaction score
Is this the same problem as your last question?
You say your altitude is changing, is your apo and/or peri changing drastically as well?

It may help to detail Orbiter version, addons etc...

I don't think it has to do wih perturbations

Reaction score
Is this the same problem as your last question?
You say your altitude is changing, is your apo and/or peri changing drastically as well?

It may help to detail Orbiter version, addons etc...

I don't think it has to do wih perturbations

It’s different. That issue was about both periapsis and apoapsis rising endlessly with no thrust, and it would occur every time. This one only happened once so far and both periapsis and apoapsis are simply unachievable - the timer would start rising right before them and then reset.

I’m using the latest Orbiter 2016 from the main site, with XR2 and hi res textures. I just installed them, together with the new elevation .tree.

Buck Rogers

Major Spacecadet
Reaction score
Does sound strange?
If you can reproduce it maybe post a scn. file and someone can check it (unfortuneatly the XR series doesn't work on 32bit systems so I can't).

CTarana45