Rant Learning things all over again!

Andy44

owner: Oil Creek Astronautix
Addon Developer
Reaction score
So for the heck of it I decided to fire up Anim8or this weekend for the first time in well over a year or two at least and try to get back into building meshes, maybe with an eye toward another add-on...good grief am I rusty! I had to open old tutorials to figure stuff out; I couldn't even remember simple stuff like how to change views at first!

I guess building add-ons is not quite like riding a bicycle after all.

Meanwhile at work I have to do some fixing of code that I myself wrote a few years ago, and even with lots of commenting I am having trouble figuring out why I wrote it the way I did.

I feel like I am losing my mojo here.:facepalm:I guess when it comes to technical stuff I really shouldn't let it go for so long. This is the sort of thing I'm supposed to be feeding myself with! The worst is when I look at the stuff I studied in college and realize how much of a brain dump I've done since then. There once was a time when I actually understood linear system analysis and how to design microstrip circuits, and was building electronic projects any hacker should be proud of.

It's a long hard road to get back in mental shape. Anyone else here relate to this?

Enjo

Mostly harmless
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Reaction score
Website
www.enderspace.de
Preferred Pronouns
Can't you smell my T levels?
I guess when it comes to technical stuff I really shouldn't let it go for so long(...)
It's a long hard road to get back in mental shape. Anyone else here relate to this?

I hear ya. When I try to show off to my wife by docking or landing in Orbiter, she tells me that it looks like I spend most of the time programming this sim, and not flying. So it's a normal thing, but I like it as it is in my case better :)

Notebook

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
News Reporter
Donator
Reaction score