Linux

Unidentified Ninja

Reaction score
Hi

I really miss Orbiter, as it no longer runs on my PC. You know the story, old computer running on an increasingly bloated microsoft OS.
So, I am wondering if Orbiter can run on the Linux OS. The reason is that I have become somewhat averse toward microsoft and all the problems that come with their OS, and as I shall soon be replacing the Dell museum exhibit with something, well, less archaic, I don't want a bloated, bling OS clogging up RAM and processors with it's need for protection against cyber threats and its own superfluous cosmetic code.
I am aware the Linux OS is not good for gaming, although there is WINE, an emulator that tricks software into thinking that its running on MS.
My question is; Is there a Linux version of Orbiter? if not, Will it run successfully on the MS emulator? Or, will I have to keep MS and Dual boot the PC and using MS just for gaming.
I must add that I have no experience of Linux at all, only Windows and Symbian. Symbian I used for everything, as it was fast and reliable and never had a single virus in ten years of heavy use. I miss my Psion too.
At present I use Windows XP for everything, argh, what a mess, its so bad that I only ever switch the PC on if I really must use it and have no choice in the matter, like now!

Jarvitä

Reaction score
Orbiter doesn't work in Wine, works with heavy graphical problems in virtualisation. It's one of the very few reasons why I keep an old copy of windows tinyXP (locked down and safely disconnected from any kind of network) installed. I even install new addons to the orbiter folder from my one of my Linux installs.

RisingFury

OBSP developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
WINE = Wine Is Not Emulation
Recursive acronym... just like GNU.

Some people have reported getting Orbiter working over Wine, but at way lower FPS then they got on XP. 100 FPS turned to 25 or something like that.