Longitude of ascending node

downloaderfan

Reaction score
Alright,i know this is the 4th thread in orbiter forum about this topic,but even after reading those and some websites i found from google,i'm having a hard time understanding what is the longitude of ascending node.

Perhaps the key lies in understanding this diagram:
[ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Longitude_of_the_ascending_node"]Longitude of the ascending node - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia[/ame]

If someone could explain me in terms of a total noob,i would appreciate it.
I'm finding it difficult to understand those angles in 3D.

Another reason i started this thread is because i wanted to know how to control the value of LAN during an ascent because when i launch a ship with a particular heading from a particular location,it has some value of LAN,and then if i launch another ship following the same heading after a while,i find that it has a different LAN,changing the position of nodes with my target as well.

Thank u
:hailprobe:

Last edited:

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Well, you have to remember that LAN in the Orbital elements is the LAN at the epoch J2000 (Julian Epoch, Year 2000) or: What the longitude of your ascending node would have been on January 1, 2000.

It changes over time in space, because your orbit is changed by Earths gravity (non-spherical gravity). And if you launch a few hours later on the same heading, it changes because Earth moves around the sun (and your orbit would be theoretically fixed in space) and because Earth rotates as well and with it the Greenwich meridian.

It is just a reference for describing the orientation of the orbit. In reality, nobody would calculate your orbit back in time. Instead, a coordinate system is used in the calculation, that is fixed for the situation at J2000, not the current rotating coordinate system of Earth.