Lunar Transfer System: renaming tanker causes crash

rocketman768

New member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
Points
0
I downloaded and installed the Lunar Transfer System from Andy44. I launched a tanker into orbit, and then made the following scenario

Code:
BEGIN_DESC
I just launched a large fuel tank into orbit. Now it's time to launch the LTV.
END_DESC

BEGIN_ENVIRONMENT
  System SolSTS
  Date MJD 54373.5279948611
END_ENVIRONMENT

BEGIN_FOCUS
  Ship NovaSSTO
END_FOCUS

BEGIN_CAMERA
  TARGET NovaSSTO
  MODE Cockpit
  FOV 50.00
END_CAMERA

BEGIN_HUD
  TYPE Surface
END_HUD

BEGIN_MFD Left
  TYPE Map
  REF Earth
  BTARGET Cape Canaveral
  OTARGET Moon
  TRACK ON
END_MFD

BEGIN_MFD Right
  TYPE Orbit
  PROJ Ship
  FRAME Equator
  ALT
  REF Earth
END_MFD


BEGIN_SHIPS
Tanker1:Jumbo_Tanker
  STATUS Orbiting Earth
  RPOS -3535159.90 -630673.79 -5619858.51
  RVEL 6552.476 -126.621 -4099.548
  AROT -178.20 -57.69 -176.10
  VROT 0.00 0.07 0.00
  PRPLEVEL 0:0.960
  IDS 0:584 10
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 464
  RCS 1
  CTRL_SURFACE 1
  CONFIGURATION 1
  CURRENT_PAYLOAD 0
END
NovaSSTO:novassto
  STATUS Landed Earth
  BASE Cape Canaveral:3
  HEADING 270.00
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000
  NAVFREQ 0 0
  XPDR 0
  CONFIGURATION 0
  PAYLOAD LTV LTV LTV 0.00 0.00 45.00 100000.00 0.00 1.00
END
END_SHIPS
If you try to target Tanker1 in orbit MFD, it shows a bunch of nonsense characters. If you try to switch views to Tanker1 (or just leave Orbiter running for a few minutes), it will crash.

The weird thing is that if you rename Tanker1 to Jumbo_Tanker, then everything works fine. What's the deal?

JumboTanker v0.9
NovaSSTO v0.51-beta
 

Linguofreak

Well-known member
Joined
May 10, 2008
Messages
5,038
Reaction score
1,275
Points
188
Location
Dallas, TX
IIRC, that was put together with spacecraft3.dll, and spacecraft3 has certain restrictions on what vessels built with it can be named.
 

Andy44

owner: Oil Creek Astronautix
Addon Developer
Joined
Nov 22, 2007
Messages
7,620
Reaction score
7
Points
113
Location
In the Mid-Atlantic states
I think it is a spacecraft3.dll constraint that the vessel has to have the same name as the .ini file, so you either have to name the vessel "Jumbo_Tanker", or you can make a copy of the .ini file with the name you want the vessel to have.

If you go the second rout, you will have to copy the .cfg file as well, and edit the text of the cfg file, or else you may lose the docking port and comm frequencies and so forth.
 

rocketman768

New member
Joined
Jun 25, 2008
Messages
54
Reaction score
0
Points
0
Thanks so much! I have been playing a while, but this is the first time I have tried to change scenario files, so thanks for the info.
 
Top