Flight Question Moon to Mars with slingshot around Earth

Estelyen

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm new to the forums although I've been using Orbiter for several years now. I have so far always been able to work out how to do things myself, but now I'm totally stuck with a problem, that's why I'm posting here.

I did use the search function and I already read Marks IMFD full manual (which gave me the idea to attempt this flight in the first place), none came up with an answer to my problem:

I'm attempting a flight from a custom built base on moon to a custom built base on Mars using IMFD. I checked that there's a suitable launch window to Mars; when I attempt that same flight starting from Earth, everything works out fine.

Before lift-off, I use the Target Intercept program to set a course to Mars with a dV minimum. Then I use the slingshot program to calculate a suitable burn at an Earth PeA of about 200k using data from the course program. Yes, I made sure that SRC was set to Earth. Next, I readjust the target intercept program to the TEj from the Slingshot program, repeating those steps until both are reasonably well matched. I then time warp forward until TEj minus 250k (so I have time to reach Earth from the moon), readjust the slightly changed values in both course and slingshot program, then use the Surface launch program (with data from the slingshot program) to lift-off into a lunar orbit with EIn close to zero. Then comes my actual problem: Once I have a stable lunar orbit, I open up the Orbit Eject program and try to calculate my trans-earth ejection burn using data from the slingshot program. However, instead of directing me towards Earth, the orbit eject program always attempts to send me into a completely bogus solar orbit (using a dV of over 4000 :huh: ) that gets somewhat close to the orbit I would expect after the slingshot around earth, but getting nowhere near Mars either.