Idea Multiplayer concept overview

DarkWanderer

Orbiter Contributor
Donator
Reaction score
Preceding legal questions: no, I'm not a good programmer (at least for now), and I'm not going to implement all that written here myself - just because I've got a sober view on my coding capabilities.

The purpose of this text is to create a guidestone for developers, who has the skills and knowledge nesessary to realize the described things, but suffer from an ideological starvation - as I know what it is for the coder to work without the requirements specification. And if anyone gots interested in the topic - I can prepare a full design document.

Ch.I.What to.
So... Let's go abstract of .NET, protocol stacks and other technical details, which often obstruct the view of coders, and realize what we want to get at all.

Let's first answer the main question: what one can expect from multiuser Orbiter?
In order of raising complexity:

1.Simple 2-4 men "LAN" cooperative flight. Vessels interacting with each other (at least docking). Formation atmospheric flight, Earth orbiting. Minimal variant, no comments needed.

2.Same with interplanetary possibility. Exploration scenarios (Vespucci flying to Pluto + 2-3 DG as landing modules) and so on.

3.Multi-user cockpits (+UMMU support). There's no need for it in stock DG, but, for example, flying an XR-2/5 together, or performing a EVA from shuttle with the active help of a pilot will be marked by pilots as at least great .

4.MMO. Many ships on the orbit, hard traffic in KSC. Thinking widely, there's no need to real syncronization of everything and everyone - it will be enough to implement it in a manner of VATSIM (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/VATSIM) - thus reducing the client load and unbinding it from specific orbiter version. Enough elegant solution, I think.