Request Dual-Keel Space Station addon (STATION REQUEST)

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,605
Reaction score
2,327
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Also, take a look at the modular space station at NASA, which was developed parallel to the Space Shuttle. ;) Of course it had a docking port. But never was it predicted that it could be a Soviet one.
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Also, take a look at the modular space station at NASA, which was developed parallel to the Space Shuttle. ;) Of course it had a docking port. But never was it predicted that it could be a Soviet one.
Which modular space space station?
 

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,605
Reaction score
2,327
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
This:



And especially for the Space Shuttle:



(And yes, the Shuttle looked different in 1972)
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks. Interesting

Ok. Just wanted to make sure on the Soyuz. I will put something together.

I may just try different thrust/isp to get some movement.
 

Attachments

  • sm2.jpg
    sm2.jpg
    57.2 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Joined
Feb 6, 2008
Messages
37,605
Reaction score
2,327
Points
203
Location
Wolfsburg
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
Thanks. Interesting

Ok. Just wanted to make sure on the Soyuz. I will put something together.

I may just try different thrust/isp to get some movement.

Maybe a good idea for an alt history project, doing the orginal fully reusable Rockwell-General Dynamics Shuttle with the MSS. But sure not really useful in this context. :) I just wanted to prove, that the docking systems had really been part of the design process from day one of the STS and really only evolved to their last flown state.
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
I think this is correct? The bottom one has issues as the tails it the rcs modules
 

Attachments

  • 1993dock.jpg
    1993dock.jpg
    66.4 KB · Views: 12
  • ssf1993dock.jpg
    ssf1993dock.jpg
    29.8 KB · Views: 12
  • 1993docka.jpg
    1993docka.jpg
    52.5 KB · Views: 12
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Here are all 3. 1993 has rcs if ok I will add to the others. For 1990 and 1991 shuttle docking you need STS2016 or SF or SSV? as they can show no ODS.

I guess the next will be the Dual Keel. New trusses will be needed.
 

Attachments

  • SSF1990.1991.1993.zip
    21.2 MB · Views: 6

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Something I was working on for eva. Basically you can attach a eva mesh and move it.

Dual keel and Fred.

I built the dual keel off artist images with has cubes rather than the hex.

The Freedoms are from ISS_HD

Not sure which direction to go
 

Attachments

  • Evatetherfreedom.jpg
    Evatetherfreedom.jpg
    90.6 KB · Views: 14
  • Evatetherfreedom1.jpg
    Evatetherfreedom1.jpg
    80.7 KB · Views: 14
  • dualkeelfred.jpg
    dualkeelfred.jpg
    45 KB · Views: 15
Last edited:

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
1,055
Reaction score
1,264
Points
128
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
I think for the truss sections of the dual keel, keep the cubic artist impressions of its truss since those are larger and longer than the 1991 Fred and the actual hardware that flew with the ISS
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
But Now I wonder how much like the artist drawing do I make it? Like the modules? I can reuse the ISS ones.

On the modules. I can make it like the model which is the dkplan2. Then add what other module. But the ISS_HD are more detailed modules. Not use a white texture habitat. I will move the habitat under the trusses as the model shows.
 

Attachments

  • dkplan1.jpg
    dkplan1.jpg
    35.1 KB · Views: 16
  • dkplan2.jpg
    dkplan2.jpg
    98.7 KB · Views: 16
  • scaleddk1.jpg
    scaleddk1.jpg
    60.6 KB · Views: 17
Last edited:

Gargantua2024

The Desktop Orbinaut
Joined
Oct 14, 2016
Messages
1,055
Reaction score
1,264
Points
128
Location
San Jose Del Monte, Bulacan
The third module on the rear should be the Columbus module placed there instead of another Harmony/Tranquility, since in the concept art, it is a European-sponsored laboratory that is occupying that position
IMG_20231221_195427.jpg
IMG_20231221_200016.jpg
 

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Thanks. I will correct that for both versions. I have seen also a track above the module with a rms station. I can add a static version
 
Last edited:

gattispilot

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Joined
Oct 17, 2007
Messages
8,693
Reaction score
2,671
Points
203
Location
Dallas, TX
Now we get this:
 

Attachments

  • dkeelversion2b.jpg
    dkeelversion2b.jpg
    54.9 KB · Views: 8
Top