New guy

Archer

Reaction score
Hey guys! Thought I would introduce my self.

I just recently stumbled across Orbiter while looking through the Infinity forums. I have not had a chance to do much with the game besides messing around a bit with launches and re-entry. I do have a pretty extensive background with flight sims, and I currently fly LOMAC, DCS, X-plane, and Falcon 4 on a pretty regular basis.

IRL, I work as a flight instructor and have racked up a couple thousand hours of flight time over the last three years. I am about to go back to school for a degree in astro-engineering, and would love nothing more than to eventually wind up flying one of the new LEO commercial vehicles that are currently in development (I know, its quite a long shot.)

If you have any suggestions on what tasks I should be focusing on over the next couple of weeks while I learn to use Orbiter I would greatly appreciate it. I saw the mock mission to Mars project that forum members were involved in, and eventually would like to participate in similar events.

I was also wondering if there were any multiplayer mods out or in development that would allow us to set up a "flight training" program. As a flight instructor, I would love to set up a syllabus, lesson plans, training material, ect to help new pilots (once I become more experienced and am no longer a new pilot my self.)

PhantomCruiser

Wanderer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Since you've got skills with real and simulated aircraft, I think you're learning curve will be much shallower than the "typical" new guy. There is a tutorials link down at the bottom of the page that will get you moving. Many of us here started with "Go Play In Space", and I can't say enough great things about it.
Once you are comfortable "flying" there is Tex's video that will take you from KSC to the ISS using the DGIV.