Orbital Ellipse from State Vectors (math help)

HarvesteR

Reaction score
Hi again,

I'm studying math again :thumbup:
Spent last light reading through Wikipedia, and got reminded of how much I hate math notation :p

Anyways, what I'm trying to figure out is how to plot an orbital ellipse from initial state vectors...

The trouble I'm having is with some parameters which, for simplicity, I've ignored in my simulation...

For instance, the force of gravity in my sim is a constant -9.81m/s/s, and the primary body (the planet) is completely stationary... Which means the planet has no specified mass...

since I'm applying 1g of force as gravity, I assumed it was safe to use Earth's standard gravitational constant... but I'm not too sure about that...

also, my engine uses Y-up coordinates, so I also assumed it was correct to swap out Z and Y from the original formulae from wikipedia, since it says all it's vectors are in Z-up notation...

Here's what code I have until now... all variables are commented as to what they are (or should be)... the initial state vectors are taken from the static FlightState class that contains the current state of the ship, relative to the center of the planet.

Code:
float inc; //inclination
    float ecc; //eccentricity
    float lan; //longitude of ascending node
    float aPe; //argument of periapsis
    float meA; //mean anomaly
    float orP; //orbital period

float sma; //semi-major axis

float soe; //specific orbital energy

Vector3 ram; //specific relative angular momentum vector

float u = 398600.441f; // standard gravitational constant for earth
    float G = 6.6725985e-11f; // Big G constant

void Update()
    {
        // let's go
        // I'm assuming that all calculations from Wikipedia are Z-up, so I'm swapping out Z and Y wherever they're present

Vector3 pos = FlightState.position;
        Vector3 vel = FlightState.velocity;

ram = Vector3.Cross(pos, vel);

inc = Mathf.Acos(ram.y / ram.magnitude); //swapped z for y here