Advanced Question Possibility of using Matlab to implement GNC functions ?

keudon

Reaction score
Hello everyone !

First of all, I must say Orbiter flight simulator is a brilliant project, and as an aerospace engineer, I really admire all the work behind it... :thumbup:

So, I have been using Orbiter Flight Simulator for some time as a hobby and there is something that I've been wondering about. I'm currently working for a huge EU company (manufacturing, among others, european spaceships :tiphat:)

One of my activity is to design control laws for orbital manoeuvers and attitude control (including homing, closing, formation flight etc...). I was curious if that would be possible to implement a controller (PD, PID, H_infinity and/or LQG, designed with Matlab) into OFS.

I identified some more precise questions as a starter :

1. OFS provides a ACS function (retro/prograde, normal +/- etc...). How is this function controlling the spacecraft with respect to the disturbance (J2, drag etc...) ? What sort of controler is used ?​

2. Is there a way to extract time-dependant "output" variables of a spacecraft such as attitude, velocity, Isp, CoG, Inertia etc... If yes, could those variables be used in real time during the simulation ?​

3. If such variables are accesible, are they estimated variables or "real" variables ? (with respect to the accuracy of the mathematical models used in OFS)​

The ultimate goal for me would be to test some control algorithm. I am not sure if a similar question have been asked before, otherwise I thank you in advance for a proper redirection :)

Thank for reading me, wish y'all the best !

SiameseCat

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
It's easy to implement a state-space controller in Orbiter using C++ (or Lua). The only possible problem you might encounter is if you have integral/derivative terms, in which case you need to do numerical integration/differentiation.