Discussion Preparing CMake to compile Orbiter add-ons (my experience)

Matias Saibene

Developing and CMakin'
Reaction score
Website
de-todo-un-poco-computacion-e-ideas.blogspot.com.ar
I'm posting this thread because I think my experience can be useful to someone else. I'm not an expert in programming but this worked for me.
With these clarifications made today we are going to see how to compile a DLL for Orbiter on Windows using CMake and MS Build Tools.

The first thing is to download and install MS Build Tools from the official Microsoft site: https://visualstudio.microsoft.com/es/downloads/
The second thing we are going to download is CMake for Windows. Simply go to the CMake website and choose your corresponding CPU architecture and download and install CMake: https://cmake.org/download/#latest
Although you can download CMake together with MS Build Tools, in my case I preferred to make a custom install.
Finally, we are going to download Windows Terminal from the Microsoft Store: https://www.microsoft.com/store/productId/9N0DX20HK701?ocid=pdpshare

MS Build Tools installation instructions here: https://github.com/bycloudai/InstallVSBuildToolsWindows

In my case, once the VS Community installation was finished, I proceeded to install CMake and added CMake to the system PATH for all users.
2024-06-16 20_13_38-Window.jpg

Now we are going to write some very simple text files that will help us a lot in compiling our project. These are the CMakeLists.txt files that are responsible for configuring our project.

This is my project structure on Windows and I'm going to focus first on a small part of my project, the Boeing 985_121, to start with a simple example.
2024-06-16 20_24_30-Windows.jpg

Let's go into the project subfolder and we're going to create a text file called "CMakeLists.txt" and we can open it with notepad, although I prefer to use VS Code.
2024-06-16 20_25_16-src_B985_121.jpg