problem aligning orbits with atlantis space shuttle

caningo

Developer-in-training
Tutorial Publisher
Donator
Reaction score
Hi everyone :)

My name is caningo and I am new to orbiter. I must say this game is freaking amazing. I downloaded it last night and have been playing for like 6 hours hahaha. :rofl:

I was playing the flight where you liftoff from KSC and have to release a satelite in orbit. I instead decided to go to the ISS.

I've read all the steps to get there but when I get to part where i have to align orbits I get a really crappy rate of inclination diff. (-0.003 deg/s) which takes forever to reach the ISS orbit. Is that normal? My difference in orbits was like 70 something degrees but i had not even gotten to half of that when i was almost out of fuel.

Can someone plz help?? :( Can i get that rate of inclination diff. to be a little bigger? or is it maybe my copy of Orbiter has a bug or something? :sorry:

Thanks a lot for all your help. I look forward to good times in the game and in these forums. :p

caningo

Woo482

Addon Developer
GFX Staff
Reaction score
:welcome: I think you might be burning in the wrong direction If I am correct you need to point 15 degrees above pro grade when you want to change orbits in the space shuttle

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
No, all is fine. The low rate of inclination change comes from some design aspects of the space shuttle:

-Low thrust of the OMS - both OMS engines can only produce 0.6 m/s² acceleration.
-Low amount of total impulse - the OMS of the space shuttle can only change your velocity vector by 1200 feet per second or 365.76 m/s

Next problem is the required amount of impulse for changing your orbit. Plane change maneuvers are painfully expensive.

70° plane change cost dV = 2 * sin(70°/2) * current velocity ~ 8930 m/s in your case. That is almost as much as the total impulse used for putting the space shuttle into Orbit.