Radio navigation near north pole

cjp

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
I'm asking this question here, because I expect to find a lot of people here with similar interests and maybe even some real pilots:

Some time ago I was flying in Flight Simulator. I remembered my own flights between Amsterdam and Tokyo, which went over northern Siberia. I also remembered old pictures showing the Amsterdam-Tokyo route going over the north pole. I thought a bit about this difference, and I concluded that going over Siberia is the shortest, but wasn't possible in the old days when the Soviet Union was there.

So I wanted to try the old route. I also figured the old planes probably didn't have a very long range, so I planned a stop at Anchorage in Alaska. Also GPS didn't exist yet, so I only used VOR and other radio navigation aids.

I have some experience in Flight Simulator with flying on VOR beacons, but this route got me into trouble. The problem is that is comes very close to the magnetic north pole. Also, there weren't any beacons around there, so the only thing I could do was to fly on my compass. Which isn't a good idea close to the magnetic north pole of course.

I could of course ignore everything, and just try to fly in a straight line as good as possible, but I was afraid that even a little bit of wind could blow be so far off-course that I couldn't detect the first beacon when arriving at Alaska.

How do real airline pilots handle this situation? How did they do this before the GPS era?

Redburne

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Beta Tester
Reaction score
As far as I know, the navigators had to rely on inertial navigation systems for flights with no possibility of radio navigation. A well known IN system (according to Wikipedia) was the Delco Carousel, which is even available for FS.