Taking night sky pictures with a common digital compact camera.

TSPenguin

The Seeker
Reaction score
First Moon Result

The light pollution is kinda pissing me off, so I went on to work with Luna.

This is my very first try with Registax and I am impressed! I had made 115 free hand shots of the moon within a minute.
The final stack for processing was 25 images.

Make sure to view the pictures at fullscreen to be able to make out the subtle difference.
Notice the halo around the moon? That are the processed JPEG artifacts ;)

moonres.png is the result
moonbase.jpg is the base image used for aligning and quality decision.

Attachments

• moonres.png
    moonres.png
    50.7 KB · Views: 25
  • moonbase.jpg
    moonbase.jpg
    19.5 KB · Views: 20

spcefrk

AeroEng
Donator
Reaction score
AFAIK, mediafire, rapidshare, zshare, badongo etc. etc. don't allow for direct file linking. I would prefer to do that, that is why I asked for a image hoster.

I've been happy with Flickr. It allows people to download full size pictures (which became a must when DBF students came knocking at my facebook page for pictures of their planes)

TSPenguin

The Seeker
Reaction score
I've been happy with Flickr. It allows people to download full size pictures (which became a must when DBF students came knocking at my facebook page for pictures of their planes)

Last time I checked Flickr had an absolutely laughable upload limit per month.
I might be confusing it but it didn't it also have a maximum filesize?

Phrozin

Reaction score
I have acces to a Canon PowerShot A720 IS. A simple compact camera, yet a very good one.
I live in the center of a heavily light polluted city, you can easily spot from LEO in daytime and much much easier at night.
I don't have a telescope or a tripod.

Yet I am determined to make some nice sky shots.

Here are the most important camera datas:

• 1/2.5 " Type CCD
    8.0 million effective pixels
    5.8-34.8mm (35-210mm equiv)
    F2.8-4.8
    6x optical zoom