Tethered Space Station - Artificial Gravity

Allan

Reaction score
hello again. I'm back and I need a little understanding in a matter. You guys were extrodinarily helpful with my last conundrum and I'm hoping you can help with this one as well.

Premise: A space station tethered to the Earth with a thick king post structure between two rotating rings (3-5 RPM).

Which centrifugal force (artificial gravity) would win out if people were to inhabit the king post structure? The rings?

On these rings if a shuttle were to be released into space would it be flung into space because of the roattion speed around the Earth or would it merely drift away governed only by the 3-5 RPM of the rings? Would a departure from the station be more feasable from the king post itself? Would either scenario be safe for people (strapped in of course).

I know these is a wildly impractical questions but I'm a writer, not a physicist or mathmatician. Any help to better my understanding is appreciated.

HAL9001

super-ninja-orbinaut
Reaction score
Now, I don't like centrifugel force.
If it rotates rightwards and you go leftward in it there is no grvity anymore.
If you go in the same direction, it rotates, there is some stronger gravity.
:facepalm:
Better would be a sopecial "back and forward" moving with just short times with lower gravity.

River Crab

SpaceX Cheer Captain
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
I'm not sure I completely understand, but it just sounds like a space elevator with 2 centrifuges on it.
So the entire elevator would be in orbit, which makes sense if you think about it. So the gravity inside the "King Post" would be the same as in a vessel orbiting at that altitude, and if you released anything from it, it would just act as if you released it from an orbiting vessel.

EDIT: Wow, what was I thinking. Ignore everything above.

So please do some research on [ame="http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Space_elevator"]space elevators[/ame] if you want anything more about that.