Question Addon Development Startup Help

YCT

Reaction score
Hi,

I've been playing the game for a long time. I just want to make a small satellite with rcs and one small engine. Send it away with brainJ´s Falcon9 or other rockets. I want you to guide me.
What should I do?
What resources should I use?
Where should I start?

Note: I am a indie game developer. I know modeling and coding.I just want to improve Orbiter I played for years.

Thank You :)

GLS

Orbiter Contributor
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
github.com
Martin provides some (and more than some) pointers on adding things to Orbiter in the API_Guide.pdf and 3DModel.pdf files, located in the Orbitersdk\doc folder.

fred18

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
for a simple project as this as startup I'd suggest spacecraft4 by vinka!

and anim8r for the mesh (the graphics).

All simple tools that can be learned quite quickly. Check the tutorials in this forum around about them. If you don't find them I'll send the links

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
First important thing to do:

Ask yourself very skeptically, what you want to make. Not just simply say "I want this". Think about the how it should be like, make pencil drawings, write small texts how the player should use it, what you like. I prefer the pencil version simply because I can take my idea sketchbook with me whereever I may roam and need no electricity or internet for it. I am sure, as Indie game developer, this is no new idea for you.

Then, when you have decided on your goal and have a clear vision of the (intermediate) result. You decide about your tools. It is a good idea to already think about your current skills and the skills that you want to have in the future. You can't become a master of all trades, and at least you won't become it with the first add-on. Consider the possibility of making errors along the way and learning often the hardest way.