Problem Animation state and status correctly written to scenario file, but can't be read?

Thunder Chicken

Fine Threads since 2008
Donator
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
4,303
Reaction score
3,218
Points
138
Location
Massachusetts
I am sprucing up some code in Kev33's Mirage 2000 model and am trying to save and read animation states to the scenario file.

I am writing the animation status and state using clbkSaveState:

C++:
void Mirage2000::clbkSaveState(FILEHANDLE scn)
{
    VESSEL2::clbkSaveState(scn);
  
    //Write canopy animation status and state

    oapiWriteScenario_int(scn, "canopy_anim_status", canopy_anim_status);
    oapiWriteScenario_float(scn, "canopy_anim_state", canopy_anim_state);
}

This seems to be working properly as I get the following in the scenario file:

Code:
K-Mirage2000:K33\K-Mirage2000
  STATUS Landed Earth
  POS -80.6832361 28.5978592
  HEADING 330.33
  ALT 2.401
  AROT 66.737 33.746 9.912
  AFCMODE 7
  PRPLEVEL 0:1.000000
  NAVFREQ 94 481
  canopy_anim_status 1  //canopy opening
  canopy_anim_state 0.537892  //canopy 53.8% open
END

But clbkLoadStateEx doesn't seem to be able to read those lines from the scenario with this code:

C++:
void Mirage2000::clbkLoadStateEx(FILEHANDLE scn, void *status)
{
    char *line;
    while (oapiReadScenario_nextline(scn, line))
    {
        //Load canopy animation status and state
      
        if (!_strnicmp(line, "canopy_anim_status", 19))
        {
            sscanf(line + 19, "%li", &canopy_anim_status);
        } 
        else if (!_strnicmp(line, "canopy_anim_state", 18))
        {
            sscanf(line + 18, "%lf", &canopy_anim_state);
        }
        else
        {
            ParseScenarioLineEx(line, status);
        }
    }
}

I'm not quite sure what is going on. The scenario loads, but the canopy animation status and state are in the position of their initialized state (UINT canopy_anim_status = 0 and double canopy_anim_state = 0.0).
 
Last edited:

diogom

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2010
Messages
1,365
Reaction score
407
Points
98
I've been doing the same for loading parameters and it has always worked so far, the method itself seems fine. But aren't you counting one extra character in the strings? (I've been doing it like "ANIM", 4)
I wonder though if it could also be something with using underscores in the names of the parameters: https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/cp...trnicmp-l-wcsnicmp-l-mbsnicmp-l?view=msvc-170 under "Remarks", not entirely sure what that means myself, but they're at least different.

So maybe it's not quite reading 19 or 18 characters, and thus never loading the values. Not sure about it, but it's the one difference I see to what I usually do.
 

Thunder Chicken

Fine Threads since 2008
Donator
Joined
Mar 22, 2008
Messages
4,303
Reaction score
3,218
Points
138
Location
Massachusetts
You're right. I was hovering over the variables which gives this "helper" :(

Char_count.png

I've been beating my head against this all day, and never thought about actually counting the characters. Gah...

Thanks!
 

diogom

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 2, 2010
Messages
1,365
Reaction score
407
Points
98
Ah, that'll do it. It can be a bit misleading, it's counting the null terminator at the end of each string. So effectively you type 18 useful characters, but it needs that last null character to indicate the string is over, so the "array" needs to be 19 characters long.
 
Top