Project BFR for Orbiter 2016

Axel

Drive Technician
Reaction score
Ok maybe we can solve this problem in the future or we wait for another orbiter version with another ground detection system.
Another thing is, you wrote that for the Airfoils "a debug string is displayed". But i can not see the debug string when i press "A". But the aerodynamic is different when i press "A", that works. Standard config seems to be "airfoils on" at scenario start.
But the next thing are the aerodynamics itself of the ship, i find like the other orbinauts, its veeery veeeery hard to fly the ship in the atmosphere. But it is technicly a delta winged vessel, like the space shuttle, maybe a little bit smaller wings in relation to the hull, but longer and less empty weight. But the space shuttle is like a "beginner-plane", when i fly it after your BFR-addon.
Im not a beginner, i fly in orbiter since 2006! Its nearly impossible to fly a curve (around a airport) without wild shakings and rotations and without a crash :(. And KillRot was permanently on. Maybe the aerodynamics in your BFR.dll are wrong at some points. When not, Elon had better not changed the design of the bird, the first version (ITS) was a very nice lifting body, flying of this would be mutch easier, because more stable in the air and more lift.

I like the mesh, good job and keep up the work! :cheers::cheers:
I hoped so mutch that somebody released a BFR/BFS-addon for orbiter, and you was the first!!!

Last edited:

francisdrake

Addon Developer
Addon Developer
Reaction score
Website
francisdrakex.deviantart.com
Don't blame Elon for the behaviour of this addon. The sluggish aerodynamic behaviour is purely mine. :)
I copied the aerodynamics from an old addon, a bi-conic CEV. The up-and-down pumping is probably because the lifting moment does not fit well to the drag and damping of the airfoil.
I could try to copy the Space Shuttle aerodynamics, but:
- The wings of the BFR are much smaller compared to the fuselage size.