Flight Question Cannot get relative inclination down to 0 during ascent.

Lawgeenoo

Reaction score
Hello, I'm new here.
I've been playing Orbiter on/off for some time now. I'm no professional by any means, but I pretty much know my way around, except for one thing, which drives me nuts.
I can't get the RInc down to 0, using the default Atlantis. My heading is ok ~138 or ~43 degrees for an ISS rendezvous. It goes down ok, but it always stops at a relatively small value. Best i got was around ~1.7 degrees, which is way too much. The required plane alignment would use more than half of the OMS's engines fuel.
Really don't understand why this happens. When i have the smallest RInc, i tried to yaw the shuttle towards Normal or Antinormal, but it doesn't work. It drops a bit, then comes back up, doesn't matter if it's pointed for AN or DN.(this being while i still use the main engines) I'm always launching when the ISS will pass over KSC.
However, i never had a problem like this using the XR2.
Maybe you could shed some light, please? And, English is not my first language, sorry if it's bad. :)
Thanks.

garyw

O-F Administrator
Administrator
Addon Developer
Tutorial Publisher
Reaction score
Website
blog.gdwnet.com
I'm always launching when the ISS will pass over KSC.

You don't need to launch when the ISS passes over KSC, you just need to launch when it's path is over KSC.

Do you use launch MFD at all? That can really help to get the inc down and will help you to launch at the right time, I always find it best to launch a few seconds before the path of the ISS is over the launch site as the launch itself takes a short time to start converging on the ISS.

If you launch at the exact moment the path is over the launch site then by the time you drop the SRB's the path of the ISS has already moved past the launch site and your rINC is increasing.

Urwumpe

Not funny anymore
Addon Developer
Donator
Reaction score
Preferred Pronouns
Sire
I really recommend launch MFD for that.